1. Introducing Channels - a new way to chat with other Android users!
    Dismiss Notice

where is the Device Admins setting located?Support


Last Updated:

  1. standardevo

    standardevo Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 11, 2012
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    2
    How do I get to the Device Admin for the Evo 3D? So that I change admins on the phone?
     

    Advertisement
  2. toddpedersen

    toddpedersen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    68
    Go to Menu, Settings, Security and then you should see Select Device Administrators.



     
    marctronixx likes this.
  3. standardevo

    standardevo Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 11, 2012
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    2
    It is not located there, I have looked again and again, maybe a virus took device admin off the phone?
    Fully updated with android version 2.3.4.
     
  4. standardevo

    standardevo Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 11, 2012
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    2
  5. jj14x

    jj14x Guides Guide

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1,380
    Likes Received:
    631
    Hmm - I have Device administration section just below "Visible Passwords" (above the Credential storage section)
    weird..
     
  6. Corpse11

    Corpse11 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    65
    No device admin here either
     
  7. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™ Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,261
    Likes Received:
    7,818
    I have it in the same place also, weird that you don't have it
     
  8. Corpse11

    Corpse11 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    65
    No setting here either

    [​IMG]
     
  9. jerofld

    jerofld Fixing stuff is not easy VIP Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Messages:
    7,688
    Likes Received:
    4,273
    It's more than likely because you guys have custom ROMs that enable it. I've not seen it on anything that was 100% stock.
     
  10. marctronixx

    marctronixx Moderator Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,686
    Likes Received:
    3,479
    im 100% stock non rooted and the device admins are located under security:

    [​IMG]

    unless i am misunderstanding what you guys are asking for?


     
    damewolf13 and jerofld like this.
  11. jerofld

    jerofld Fixing stuff is not easy VIP Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Messages:
    7,688
    Likes Received:
    4,273
    Interesting...I figured custom ROMs would be the reason for the inconsistencies, but there goes that theory.
     
  12. Corpse11

    Corpse11 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    65
    maybe something else has to be enabled first...or maybe it has something to do with what software is on your phone, or launchers maybe...

    I dunno, I've never seen this option on my phone before
     
    AndroidMax likes this.
  13. standardevo

    standardevo Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 11, 2012
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    2
    Is there any piece of software to enable it? I am 100% stock as well, looked at my brothers and dads phone and they don't have it either.
     
  14. marctronixx

    marctronixx Moderator Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,686
    Likes Received:
    3,479
    I have a very vanilla sprint device. No launchers or anything. It is stock.

    I have an exchange account through the company I play with. That's the only app on the phone that has the ability to manipulate settings. Other than that, it's stock.
     
  15. standardevo

    standardevo Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 11, 2012
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    2
    I googled it and the exchange thing does seem to be the deciding fact in giving device admins available.
     
    marctronixx likes this.
  16. speedfan

    speedfan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    26
    I have it on mine but don't have exchange. Mine appears to be enabled by switchpro, avast, and wifi unlock.
     
    marctronixx likes this.
  17. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™ Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,261
    Likes Received:
    7,818
    I think mine may have been by Lookout app, this is a very interesting thread, when I actually check my admin rights and click on it, it shows MyLookOut as the admin.
     
  18. standardevo

    standardevo Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 11, 2012
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    2
    Donwloaded lookout and I can see the device admin now, thanks for your help, now i can continue my other thread about how I can't uninstall a app I downloaded off the market.
     
  19. jj14x

    jj14x Guides Guide

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1,380
    Likes Received:
    631
    ok - this is almost certainly a dumb question, but for an unrooted device, what does this option do? On my device, I see lookout as a device admin - and I can enable/disable it. I don't see how to add a new device admin (guess an app has to do that during installation?) And even if I could add a new device admin, what does that really do?

    (BTW, my EVO is stock - unrooted thanks to HBOOT 1.5 GRRRRRR)
     
  20. jerofld

    jerofld Fixing stuff is not easy VIP Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Messages:
    7,688
    Likes Received:
    4,273
    It certainly is not a dumb question. I can't find any record of this being a permission noted by Google. I thought it was the 'Modify System Settings' permission, but that also appears in apps that don't use device admin. Not even in alostpacket's permission thread.
     
    marctronixx likes this.
  21. jj14x

    jj14x Guides Guide

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1,380
    Likes Received:
    631
    thanks jerofld. So for a user like me, there really is no reason to muck around with that setting?
     
  22. kevindroid

    kevindroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    935
    Likes Received:
    232
    this is alot like super user. it allows an app to control certain aspect that were set by the user. without this permission an app like tasker or lookout could not be set to perform said tasks
     
  23. damewolf13

    damewolf13 live~laugh~love VIP Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    4,087
    Likes Received:
    2,667
    Mine is stock, and I also have the " select device administrators".
     

Share This Page

Loading...