• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root Which Program do I use to unroot?

rimmi2002

Dec 2, 2010
Hi I want to unroot my fascinate. SAw the instructions in the unroot forum. But I am a complete Newbie. Which program do I use to do these instructions. Is this going to be program running on the phone or the comp? Any help will be much appreciated. I have the instructions below. Thanks.

How To Remove Root

adb shell
su (its going to ask you for permission on your phone so hit allow)
mount -t rfs -o remount,rw /dev/block/stl9 /system
rm /system/app/Superuser.apk
rm /system/xbin/busybox
rm /system/xbin/su
rm /system/bin/su
rm /system/bin/busybox
mount -t rfs -o remount,ro /dev/block/stl9 /system
exit

Hi I want to unroot my fascinate. SAw the instructions in the unroot forum. But I am a complete Newbie. Which program do I use to do these instructions. Is this going to be program running on the phone or the comp? Any help will be much appreciated. I have the instructions below. Thanks.

How To Remove Root

adb shell
su (its going to ask you for permission on your phone so hit allow)
mount -t rfs -o remount,rw /dev/block/stl9 /system
rm /system/app/Superuser.apk
rm /system/xbin/busybox
rm /system/xbin/su
rm /system/bin/su
rm /system/bin/busybox
mount -t rfs -o remount,ro /dev/block/stl9 /system
exit

Any particular reason you want to unroot? Just curious

But yeah the ideal way is with adb but that involves installing the android sdk

Your best bet is to download android terminal emulator from the market (its free) and start the code with su not adb shell as that line is only neccessary in adb

Its a pain to type it all out but that's what ya gotta do

Upvote 0
Any particular reason you want to unroot? Just curious

But yeah the ideal way is with adb but that involves installing the android sdk