Which ROM do I have?


Last Updated:

  1. stad

    stad Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey Guys, after lurking and searching for a couple of weeks, I thought I had most of my n00b questions answered...

    I have rooted my phone and sucessfully installed BuglessBeast V4 Froyo. I have since gone back to 2.1 because I hate Froyo:
    -Pandora quality is terrible
    -Bluetooth Controls for Audio Players (i.e. Pandora) were non-existent
    -if you have any solutions to these, please let me know.

    My question is.. WHICH ROM DO I NOW HAVE? I want to install a theme, and if I'm understanding correctly, it has to work with my currently installed ROM. The problem is that I don't know which ROM I'm working with. Is there a way to tell?

    Sorry in advance if I have not provided enough background information.
     

    Advertisement
  2. 1054

    1054 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Go to your phone/system settings it will tell you, but you're probably running 2.1 stock.

    Settings ---> About Phone...scroll down.
     
  3. stad

    stad Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Would it indicate something other than "2.1-update1" under Firmware Version if I had a ROM loaded?
     
  4. 1054

    1054 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm definitely not an android OS expert but I'm almost positive that is stock (an OTA update)...not a custom ROM.
     
  5. stad

    stad Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    sounds good enough for me. now i need to find a custom rom/theme combo...
     
  6. 1054

    1054 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Before I took the froyo leap I was really happy with the redrum chaos roms you might wanna look into those.
     
  7. gnath9

    gnath9 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    43
    that may be the rooted update rom you loaded to get root. I use and like rom manager lots of good roms for free but you will need to buy for some others. It just makes life easier :)
     
  8. stad

    stad Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    did you find any bugs or anything? how do you like froyo? you're not experiencing any issues?
     
  9. gnath9

    gnath9 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    43
    I love froyo !!!

    I am on jrummysV4.0.7 right now with chevysNo1 LV1200 kernel
     
  10. 1054

    1054 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    I literally have not had a single issue with any Froyo rom. Be it Wifi, the camera, or anything else people have mentioned hasn't worked. I guess I might be a lucky one...

    I don't use Pandora or bluetooth (although I just ordered a car mount/charger/FM transmitter so I might start using both soon) so I can't help you on your Froyo issues, sorry.
     
  11. stad

    stad Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    do you use pandora gnath? that was my big beef. ALSO.... do you lose all your apps whenever you change roms?
     
  12. William T Riker

    William T Riker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    130
    If you want to know what rom you are running, dont go off the android version, you want to look at the last entry in about phone, "Build Number".
     
  13. djkeller3

    djkeller3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    650
    Likes Received:
    44
    Just went to Chevy's Simply Stunning, and I love it! Runs flawlessly and FAST!
     
  14. markc2

    markc2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    20
    No you don't lose all your apps, the Market remembers (usually) and re-downloads your apps for you, and/or you can use Titanium backup or Mybackup Pro, or another backup program to restore your apps and data. When I change roms to experiment I can be back up and running in 20 minutes, and if I find something I don't like, I can revert back to a nandroid backup using Rom Manager. Have fun, play.

     

Share This Page

Loading...