which rooting program for Droid X?

1. FirebirdStud

FirebirdStud Well-Known Member

Ok, which program is considered the easiest/best one to use for a complete noob? I get my phone tomorrow, and I want to be prepared for when it shows up! lol. That and I want to do some quality research before I start messing with it.

Also, Im not sure I understand the difference between rooting and ROM.. Could someone point me to a link or give me a quick rundown? Do they go hand in hand? (rooting and ROMs)

I appreciate your patience!

Cody

Advertisement
  2. xliderider

xliderider Well-Known Member

I had purchased Easy Root before when I had my D1, so I just rooted my X today. The software key was still good.

One click, and you're rooted.
  3. Xtgirl

Xtgirl Member

I'd use the universalandroot app because there is a chance that you may still have a rooted phone when we move to 2.2...guess we will find out tomorrow:)
  4. VDubBugMan53

VDubBugMan53 Well-Known Member

[​IMG]

scan that with your phone or click here http://bit.ly/9W7mAr
    for universalandroot run it then you just need to download root explorer and move a file
  5. FirebirdStud

hmm, so do I have to pay to root my phone?? I thought rooting was free?
  6. Lars

Lars Well-Known Member

Two options: pay or read
  7. FirebirdStud

point taken! :p
  8. Lars

Lars Well-Known Member

9. Steven58

Steven58 Reformed PH VIP Member

Universal root does not work on my previously one click rooted DX, unrooted by the 2.2 update fyi. I thought it seemed too easy. :(
  10. FirebirdStud

Hey, thanks! I know that newbs can get annoying, and I really am a newb at phone hacking. Ive never had a geek phone, and now that I have one I want it to rule the world!

But this is what I wanted, a point in the direction to figure out all the basic meanings, lingo, and abbreviations so I know just what people are talking about. Im a quick learner though, I promise!

Again, thanks for the gentle push in the right direction!!