Which themes and theme apps work with Droid?


Last Updated:

  1. gwlaw99

    gwlaw99 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,030
    Likes Received:
    53
    Several are not working...probably due to resolution increase
     

    Advertisement
  2. Jacqueline

    Jacqueline Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    6
    I am using openhome with the droid. It works fine. Haven't had any issues with the themes I tried not working.
     
  3. JohnMcClane

    JohnMcClane Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    5
    Just looking over a few of the reviews ppl are saying it is slowing their phone down a ton... How is it working for you?
     
  4. Jacqueline

    Jacqueline Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    6
    I haven't noticed a slow-down, but even if I did it is worth it to me to have the 7 screens vs. 3 (also an option for 5). I decided to use Beautiful Home (from Beautiful Widgets) for my weather widget, so I have turned off the open home weather widget in the options. It is possible that is why it is working better for me as openhome says it improves performance to turn their weather widget off.

    The only real problem I've had is the combo of open home and dockrunner. If I use dockrunner, when I exit out, things don't come back quite right and I have to do a reboot, and sometimes after the reboot I have to set it back to use my skin wallpaper.
     
  5. SC_ZEUS

    SC_ZEUS New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    How do you get open home to work and the apps?? They will not work for me...
     
  6. Jacqueline

    Jacqueline Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    6
    I got openhome from the market. I also got my skin from the market. Then from the home screen, I brought up menu/more/openhome settings to configure it. From the home screen, menu/more/skins to choose my skin.

    What app are you trying to get to work?

    BTW, Openhome started force closing on me when I installed the application "where". After uninstalling where, the force closes went away.
     
  7. stoggy

    stoggy Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    3
    I got some force.closes and weird pauses with openhome. Besides that i liked it. The pauses were bad but the force.closes werent to often, about 2 in 1 hour. non of my widgets would work.

    pandahome works but the themes are more in tune with a 10 year old girl. When I changed anything about the theme I would get video glitches. Even downloaded themes would do the same.

    dxtop works good. there are 4 screens in it. but they aren't orientated like normal []-[]-[] you have to swipe top>bottom for screen1, bottom>top for screen2 and so on. Everything seems to work, i had problems with the background being off centered. But they released a patch and that is fixed now.

    ahome and freshface immediately and repeatably force.close on me. I had to power off and uninstall them.
     
  8. kantaris

    kantaris Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    openhome hasn't been running too well on our three droids.
     
  9. stoggy

    stoggy Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    3
    yea i tried openhome again tonight, after what Jacquelin said but it was the same for me. less force.closes but the pauses are still there. It was weird, tonight when it paused everything seemed to work but I couldn't change screens or start new apps but all the widgets or whatever would pull up and work fine. Almost made me think maybe its a cripple in the demo version. But I cant find any kind of support site for them so I couldn't ask. The info when you try to install says they dont put bug fixes or enhancements in the demo version.


    I didn't think I would like dxtop because at first the screens were hard to move around on but I got use to them today and tonight when I was using openhome I wished i could have the dxtop features.
     
  10. writhum

    writhum Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    3
    GDE was updated for Droid. It's a paid app (around $3), but it's ballin. Try it out.
     
  11. kelchm

    kelchm Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
  12. stoggy

    stoggy Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    3
    wow no kidding try pandahome. the glitching is gone in the 99beta version. I didn't try the stable. It is very fast, I think even my apps seemed to run faster. Widgets i have installed all worked.

    the themes are still kinda 10-year old girl but you can load ahome/openhome/... themes too. It has a theme downloader that lets you preview the theme before installing it. No more install decide you don't like it and have to uninstall. This only works with their themes though. but still VERY nice.

    the docks are nice. little menus on the sides of the screen for icons. didnt try putting a widget in them. I need to go to bed...
     
  13. Robobandit

    Robobandit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    I agree. I really like the latest beta of pandahome.. I like where they are going with it. I installed the openhome aero theme and the gloss icon pack.. looks very nice. I use the little slide-outs for direct dial and text shortcuts so I don't have to open contacts to hit my most frequently dialed numbers.
     
  14. Breezer23

    Breezer23 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    2
    I had to disable the sliding dock, battery % indicator and screen indicator AND ONLY put widgets while the phone is in portrait mode. Once you get all the widgets set up you can put the settings back and rotate the phone however you want.
     
  15. jpklaser

    jpklaser New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    The new panda home beta works perfect and also rotates the home screen without the display pushed up and the keyboard showing which is really cool.
     
  16. yamapat

    yamapat New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
  17. hatemyself

    hatemyself Guest

  18. Jacqueline

    Jacqueline Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    6
    Update on openhome:
    The force closes came back. I read somewhere on the forum that the more widgets open, the more memory used. I had added 6 picture widgets plus an analog clock, so I removed them. I have not had a force close since.

    I'm going to get the where application again and see if it works now that I've lowered the number of widgets. It sure was nice having the pictures on there, though.
     
  19. SammyH

    SammyH New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    i really wanted to check them out too!
     
  20. Paul_C

    Paul_C Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    1
    Any way to use panda home to just get the extra screens? I'd like to stick with the default theme/icons/etc. on the droid.
     
  21. stoggy

    stoggy Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    3
    Yea once you get pandahome installed you can long click and then let go on the icon and a circle menu will pop up, makes more sense when you see it. its not hard. Then you can change that icon back to default. there is a edit theme option in the theme menu and it seems like you could change the icons for a theme with 1 click but it doesn't seem to work, probably still in development. But you could do it 1 by 1. You can edit the theme and save it the way you like though, then you can change themes and not have to change icons next time.
     
  22. mike007

    mike007 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    PandaHome works Droid fine now.
     
  23. derjur

    derjur New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    For anyone else confused with how to get pandahome started, mine was listed as 91pandahome in the menu.

    First entry.
     
  24. NajinX

    NajinX Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    I've used PandaHome, OpenHome, and Home++.

    Didn't care for Panda too much, didn't seem as well built as OpenHome.

    OpenHome started lagging for me and the FC's made me look for something else. Home++ has been great. It's quick and responsive. Sure, it's young and lacks a few features, but I think it will mature very nicely.

    I just now downloaded GDE and am checking it out. I found no demo version before and didn't want to drop $3 on some app I wasn't sure about. All yer harping on here about it made me curious enough for the "plunge".
     
  25. tenbears

    tenbears Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    they told me openhome wouldnt work on droid
     

Share This Page

Loading...