Which weather widget


Last Updated:

  1. oOMavrikOo

    oOMavrikOo Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    60
    I want to use a replacement home launcher, but I like using the HTC clock. So... I've been looking at Beautiful Widgets and Weather and Toggle. Which is better? Which is more customizable through skins? And most important... Which works better?
     

    Advertisement
  2. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™ Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,275
    Likes Received:
    7,881
    I use this on my launcher pro and looks exactly like the weather clock from HTC sense, Click HERE



     
  3. JD_from_da_80s

    JD_from_da_80s Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    38
    I use BW's weather & clock widget, very customizable. Very accurate weather & time
    [​IMG]
     
  4. BlackedOut

    BlackedOut Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    7
    so what do we search for in the market? i tried bw weather
     
  5. JD_from_da_80s

    JD_from_da_80s Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    38
    Sorry about that, search Beautiful Widgets. I think it cost $1.49 but to me worth every penny.
     
  6. oOMavrikOo

    oOMavrikOo Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    60
    I clicked on your link and tried to download Fancy Widget. I used the barcode scanner and it said that HTC forced them to remove it.
     
  7. Joehunni

    Joehunni Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,001
    Likes Received:
    77
    Beautiful widgets works great and is as customizable as you could ever want.
     
  8. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™ Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,275
    Likes Received:
    7,881
    OK let me see if I can find you another one

     
  9. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™ Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,275
    Likes Received:
    7,881
    Try this one I posted a while ago, CLOCK
     
  10. oOMavrikOo

    oOMavrikOo Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    60
    Same results. Oh well, guess I'll try one of the others mentioned. I kinda like the hand drawn skin. Do all the skins cost money?
     
  11. dreahdreah

    dreahdreah Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    2
    i liked fancy widget shame it got removed
     
  12. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™ Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,275
    Likes Received:
    7,881
    Just so you know the one I posted is still working, just use a bar scanner to scan it and install it , it still works


     
  13. rnld941

    rnld941 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I like the stock weather on my Hero. I look at it several times per day, but it doesn't update nearly as often as I would like. Is there a way to automatically get it to update more frequently?
     
  14. toomuchgame441

    toomuchgame441 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,081
    Likes Received:
    78
    Gotta tap on the weather icon, form there you go to settings, and you can set the 'update frequency' to the setting that you would like. The lowest setting is 1 hour, I have mine set for 3 hrs though.
     
    rnld941 likes this.
  15. Lozer_Kid

    Lozer_Kid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    451
    Likes Received:
    21


    Fancy Widget works fine and it looks pretty neat!
     
  16. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™ Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,275
    Likes Received:
    7,881
    Yep I agree, enjoy


     
  17. dreahdreah

    dreahdreah Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    2
    Right b4 I exchanged my hero, I redownloaded BW. Liked that I could use the different skins and could match my dock when I use LP. I haven't used it in so long I didn't know they had added animated weather.
     
  18. 1sved1

    1sved1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    2
    As long as you're on the topic of weather icons - I just updated my Hero to 2.1 (and the FOTA update) and now my Weather icon is not on my Home screen - just the words "My Location". Anybody know how do I go about getting it back? Thanks.
     
  19. xevious

    xevious Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    11
    Where did you get Fancy Widget? The barcode scan provided in the link ends up failing... :( Also, is it supported for 2.1?
     
  20. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™ Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,275
    Likes Received:
    7,881
    Try this and see if you can download the APK, Click HERE


     
    xevious likes this.
  21. xevious

    xevious Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    11
    Thanks a lot, Don. It installed just fine. :)

    Btw, I couldn't get the weather function to refresh the forecast data. Does it require some other widget that will integrate with it? I know you can configure it to launch a different program (e.g. launch the Weather widget when clicking on the weather zone). But I'm looking for a way to update the weather display, as it appears on HTC Sense. Will that be facilitated when installed on a custom ROM? I'm presently running on 2.31.651.7 and planning to eventually switch to a custom ROM (once I get more familiar with the phone and the idiosyncrasies of the OEM software).
     
  22. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™ Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,275
    Likes Received:
    7,881
    Yes the easiest way is to hit all programs, and go the fancy widget from there, then go into settings from there, there are options there, to set the refresh and also manual refresh


     
  23. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™ Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,275
    Likes Received:
    7,881
    Fancy Widget is back on the market with a new design,check it out, read HERE

    [​IMG]
     
  24. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™ Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,275
    Likes Received:
    7,881
    New update in the market, they added few new features, enjoy
     

Share This Page

Loading...