White Widow Dialer Question


Last Updated:

  1. jhug

    jhug Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    3
    I just flashed the latest version of White Widow.

    When I bring up the dialer and start to dial by name (i.e. 5 - 6 - 3 for JOE), the dialer does not bring up matching names. Is this a sense thing?

    Maybe I'm not seeing it (or maybe it's not there!)...


    Thanks,
    J
     

    Advertisement
  2. rvpartsguy

    rvpartsguy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    25

    the dialer does not support that ..... i would suggest downloading dialer one and set it as default dialer, it does support the feature you are looking for

    your cyanogen and vanilla aosp roms all seem to use the same dialer .... i believe it is stock android .....
     
  3. Rossco_Pee

    Rossco_Pee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    12
    Click the contacts tab and hold the menu button. The keyboard will come up and you will be able to type a name.
     
  4. andrizoid

    andrizoid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,266
    Likes Received:
    357
    holy shit. i didnt even notice that :p
     
  5. DDustiNN

    DDustiNN Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    63
    Yeah, get Dialer One. It is very customizable and you can give it the same functionality as the HTC dialer. You can pick the colors, search options, startup view, end-call behavior... all kinds of stuff. It's pretty awesome, IMO. The only thing it lacks is the Facebook integration, but the Facebook app does an okay job with it (though not perfect).
     
  6. Rossco_Pee

    Rossco_Pee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    12
    Haha came across it on accident one afternoon.
     
  7. jhug

    jhug Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    3
    Thanks all.

    Dialer One looks good.

    The only issue is there doesn't appear to be a way to make it the full default dialer.

    Is there a way?

     
  8. rvpartsguy

    rvpartsguy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    25

    after you install it ...... press the phone buttons (hard and soft) each one should ask you which dialer to use and u can set a default ..... if not you may have to go into manage applications and clear the default dialer
     
  9. DDustiNN

    DDustiNN Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    63
    Yeah I just pressed the hard phone button and it asked me which app I wanted to use. I chose Dialer One, and checked the box to use it as the default, and been happy ever since :D

    The same thing might happen if you open your "Contacts" app and try to call someone from there... not 100% sure though.
     
    jhug likes this.
  10. jhug

    jhug Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    3
    Thanks...that worked for the hard phone button.
    The soft still brings up the regular dialer though...

     
  11. DDustiNN

    DDustiNN Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    63
    Open your app drawer (the center button at the bottom) and find Dialer One. Longpress on it until everything disappears, which allows you to place a shortcut anywhere on your home screen. Instead of placing it on your screen, drag it over to the phone button and let go... it will replace it with Dialer One. You can do that with any of those buttons, they are just customizable shortcuts to whatever app you want. You can also set it to show 4 instead of 2 if you want in the ADWLauncher options.
     
    jhug likes this.
  12. jhug

    jhug Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    3
    Great...works like a charm.

    Thanks!

     

Share This Page

Loading...