why and when to use wifi?

Last Updated:

1. ginghis

ginghis Active Member This Topic's Starter

Im new to the wifi stuff. I would like to know why and when should or shouldnt use wifi?
    Thanks

Advertisement
  2. cc16177

cc16177 Well-Known Member

To be honest (and I could be wrong so feel free to correct me if I am) I don't see much of a reason to use it, but that's not saying that I don't. Occasionally at home if my laptop is out of reach and I'm feeling the need to browse the web a bit I may link my droid up with my wireless network at home... but for the most part seeing as how the verizon 3G network is easily available and quite fast I very rarely find myself using the wifi.

3. square

square Well-Known Member

some things, like uploading to youtube, require wifi.

4. ginghis

ginghis Active Member This Topic's Starter

cool thanks!

5. Tymanthius

Tymanthius Well-Known Member

I use wifi when it's available, esp. at home. It's faster than 3g, and supposedly, it uses less battery.

It can be esp. convenient with things like ssh & ftp.

I'm now using Torrent-Fu to tell Transmission, remotely, to grab torrents of vids I want to see.

Then, I can ssh in & start the conversion process.

Once the conversion is done, I can ftp in & grab the converted file. That download on 3g is FOREVER. Not as bad if wifi is available.

6. Dan_Droid

Dan_Droid Banned

It's definitely a lot faster than 3G in most cases, and it generally uses less power than 3G because the transmitter in your phone doesn't have to send a signal as far. When you use wifi, it only has to transmit a few hundred feet at most to the wifi router, instead of a mile or more to the cell phone tower.

I have my phone set up to automatically connect to my home network when it's in range. I like it because the phone will automatically switch to 3G when it loses the wifi signal, so I can come and go without having to worry about manually switching between the two.