why do i need wifi for apps.


Last Updated:

  1. Robert7107

    Robert7107 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    36
    Well I bought my first android phone threw Verizon and love it. When I go to the market place to down load a app it ask that I use wifi....
     

    Advertisement
  2. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    29,217
    Likes Received:
    20,530
    Welcome to Android Forums, Robert!

    What you are seeing is the permissions you grant each app. Any app that uses data should have permission to use Wifi when available so it doesn't only use mobile data. By granting permission you are saying it can use Wifi, not that it must use it.
     
  3. jerofld

    jerofld Fixing stuff is not easy VIP Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Messages:
    7,688
    Likes Received:
    4,273
    It's because the app is a large file and the developers of the app felt that it was so big that you need wifi with it's faster data rate to download the app without risking corruption.

    It sucks if you don't have a wifi connection :\
     
  4. Harry2

    Harry2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    5,185
    Likes Received:
    1,345
    .. or the dev is afraid that the file download would to big for your data plan when you use the mobile data ;)

    Harry
     
  5. Robert7107

    Robert7107 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    36
    Even small files ask for wifi ......it looks like it is trying to download it but has a red triangle show up saying I need wifi .....
     
  6. sitlet

    sitlet Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    5,867
    Likes Received:
    632
    What phone? Are you on 3g or 4g? Do you get any errors or anything when trying over 3g/4g/wifi?
     

Share This Page

Loading...