Why do screenshots require a rooted phone?


Last Updated:

  1. JohnJSal

    JohnJSal Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    894
    Likes Received:
    61
    What's the reason that a phone needs to be rooted in order to take screenshots? I'm almost in disbelief that something as simple as a screenshot app isn't available (or built-in!) for an unrooted phone. It just seems like such a normal thing to do.

    Is it possible that in the future an unrooted phone can have an app to do this, or is there something about Android itself that doesn't allow it?
     

    Advertisement
  2. missy brown

    missy brown Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    25
    well they use to work until we got the update but yea i am with you i wish i can find one also for a unrooted phone.
     
  3. nahpungnome

    nahpungnome Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    29
    From a security standpoint it make sense, how would you like an app that doesn't need root permissions to take screenshots while you're surfing the web or if you're viewing a document, a picture, etc.
     
  4. novarider

    novarider Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    448
    Likes Received:
    30
    So make it built into the os so nobody has to worry about security issues.
     
  5. nahpungnome

    nahpungnome Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    29
    Right away, sir!
     
  6. Eris Ed

    Eris Ed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    982
    Likes Received:
    248
    You can take screen grabs on Android phones without rooting. Read this guide.

    Basically, you install the developer tools on your PC and after that you just open the programme, connect your phone by USB, select screen capture from the menu and save the image on your computer.
     
  7. SoFLO

    SoFLO Guest

    Like Eris Ed said, you don't need to be rooted. It looks intimidating at first glance but you get the hang of it right away.
     
  8. JohnJSal

    JohnJSal Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    894
    Likes Received:
    61
    Yeah, but to have to be tied down to your computer to take a screenshot? That's ridiculous.
     
  9. AndroidSPCS

    AndroidSPCS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,222
    Likes Received:
    478
    Well you have a couple of options, given above, either root, or the other method.

    I agree it would be nice to have a screenshot tool...but it's really not that necessary. The only use for it would be to post it on forums...
     
  10. JohnJSal

    JohnJSal Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    894
    Likes Received:
    61
    True that it's not something I'll use every day, but since my phone is new I'd like to show my friend some pictures of my home screens without having to go through all the trouble of either of those methods.
     
  11. Eris Ed

    Eris Ed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    982
    Likes Received:
    248
    Save the screen grabs to your PC in a folder (Android Screens, for example) then copy that folder to the top level of your SD card so you can open them on your phone. To be honest, I take a few screen grabs using my PC about once a week to post on the Desire Homescreens thread and I don't feel like I'm missing out by not having the ability to do this within my phone.

    A friend at work has an iPhone4 that can take a screen grab using his phone. He likes to take a screen grab and set it as his background, so it stays the same when he swipes to the next homescreen. We laugh at him a lot....
     

Share This Page

Loading...