why do words starting with i get capitalized?


Last Updated:

  1. osli

    osli Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    1
    A minor annoyance... just wonderinf If this happens to other people as well. It only happens when the spellcheck/prediction/autocorrection is on, so I'm sure that is the culprit. It doesn't happen every time, but it Is frequent. I'll try a few words here and see what happens... if in inside is In If institute indirect is Inside If. If my count is right, It has happened 7 of 18 times in this post.

    Know Issue? Discussed before? Bugging others? Make that 8 of 19.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Penny

    Penny Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just typed the same thing on mine and I didin't have this issue. Not sure if it is a setting you have somewhere or not. Are you using stock msg app?
     
  3. osli

    osli Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    1
    Stock browser, non rooted.
     
  4. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,815
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    I don't have this problem. Perhaps you've saved words that way?
     
  5. dhowell91

    dhowell91 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the same problem. It has happened to me while using both Chomp and Handcent. It's nothing major but it is annoying.
     
  6. osli

    osli Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    1
    Glad it isn't just me. I'll add it to the lengthy and ever growing list of things I'm hoping gets fixed in 2.0
     
  7. camdz

    camdz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    5
    I don't have this problem on mine, but do have an issue thats similar. When I'm typing or texting it WILL NOT capitalize the "I" when typed by itself. I also get a capitalization on the 2nd word after a period. This is hit or miss but I don't know why it happens.
     
  8. osli

    osli Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    1
    Very strange. It's also a bit touchy on putting periods after double spaces... sometimes it does, sometimes it doesn't, and often it thinks I've hit the space twice when I haven't.

    It's also flaky on when it recognizes a contraction. It usually gets I'm and I'll correct, but not always. Sometimes I wind up with Ill and Im, which isn't the end of the world or anything, but it is strange that it recognizes it enough to capitalize the I but not insert the apostrophe.

    Seems like these problems are worse the faster I type... if I get ahead a word or two then I get lots of these types of errors. If I slow down, way down, to let it keep up I get fewer but still some.

    I for one think the entire keyboard app needs to be rewritten from the ground up - UI, touch calibration, prediction and correction software - all of it.
     
  9. BSki

    BSki Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    2
    There is something either

    A) Wrong with your phone as you have all kinds of keyboard problems.
    or
    B) There is something wrong between the phone and the chair.

    Hard reset your phone, go get a new one, go use one in the store and see if you have the same problems. This will help you determine if it is A or B.
     

Share This Page

Loading...