Why does it ask to confirm the last word in a sentence?


Last Updated:

  1. Dr. Octagon

    Dr. Octagon Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Why does the text entry always ask me to confirm the last word of a sentence that ends with something other than a period? It's kind of annoying (using Handcent) to have to press on the spellchecked word before moving on or sending a text message. Sometimes I can just hit send, and sometimes it just blinks at me until I confirm that, yes, I did want to end my message or sentence with "Why?" or whatever happens to be at the end.

    Annoying. Anything I can do to get rid of this?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Sixxx

    Sixxx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    18
    I... don't have that problem. That's really weird. What keyboard are you using?
     
  3. Sixxx

    Sixxx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    18
    Also, I just tested it, even when i misspell "why" and then place a question mark it automagically changes to "Why?"

    So... Yea. Maybe it's a keyboard issue, and you need to change some settings, but I can't help until you tell me which keyboard you use.
     
  4. V425

    V425 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    22
    It happens when you don't use punctuation. To test just type w-h-y then try to hit send. (Handcent, no special keyboard)

    I've just gotten in the habit of pressing the spacebar after my last word
     
  5. Dr. Octagon

    Dr. Octagon Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I use the standard keyboard. It does it if I try to end the message with punctuation other than a period. Pressing space stops it, but why end a message with a space? Silly.

    Another issue that kind of annoys is when you backspace sometimes it joins the word you're deleting with the word prior to it, eliminating the space between the two. Strange.
     
  6. Sixxx

    Sixxx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    18
    Yea. Again, i did what you just said and it doesn't do that for me.

    I have mine set up so the enter automagically sends the text, so i'm not sure if that has anything to do with it, also i'm using Smartkeyboard Pro.

    I've been extremely lucky to never have had most if any of the problems that most of the other people on this board have had. Thank God.
     
  7. Dr. Octagon

    Dr. Octagon Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, it's not really a problem, just an annoying design flaw really. There's a bunch of those little annoying things, but it's not disastrous. If anyone knows how I can free myself of either of these annoying issues, I'd be grateful!
     
  8. DLM

    DLM Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    2
    yep, happens to me too, another annoying trait of this phone
     
  9. Sixxx

    Sixxx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    18
    Um... OK, i really think it's the keyboard, I'm using smartkeyboard Pro, why don't you give that a whirl and see if it helps. And if you really like it you can buy it.
     

Share This Page

Loading...