Why does my Evo think I'm in Detroit?


Last Updated:

  1. jeffdlb

    jeffdlb Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    20
    The World Clock app thinks my current location is Detroit and I can't seem to disabuse it of that notion. I am actually near Washington. This minor problem has persisted since release day.
     

    Advertisement
  2. cabbie

    cabbie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,344
    Likes Received:
    553
    are you rooted?
     
  3. IPvFletch

    IPvFletch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    28
    It happens some times. Mine used to say I was in Paris, LOL!!

    You can set a shorter frequency per update, that should resolve it more quickly.
     
  4. chisolmy

    chisolmy Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    How do you set the a shorter frequency?
     
  5. jeffdlb

    jeffdlb Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    20
    Not rooted. Other apps (like Inserty) know where I am.
     
  6. MyFishWagon

    MyFishWagon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    73

    When I go to AppsMenu-Clock-World clock-
    there is a clock for "Detroit" that I cant delete it. And even though I dont see it, Its killing me !
     
  7. clickclack

    clickclack Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    19
    Your not in Detroit by any chance are you? :eek:
     
  8. x081967

    x081967 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    My clock / weather widget used to say I'm in Providence, RI when I'm in the DC area. I had to manually set the location, which was a bummer.
     
  9. drksilenc

    drksilenc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    420
    Likes Received:
    68
    all you need to do is add another clock. then delete the old one there has to be atleast 1 time in there and thats your prob
     
  10. Kal Al

    Kal Al New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Same problem with my incredible. In DC right now, it thinks I'm in Detroit. It also thinks the time on the east coast is 2pm (same as Detroit). I can delete every city on the world clock except for 'current' (detroit) and 'home' (eastern time). If i were to add a calendar event while it's being stupid like this, that event would be listed on the calendar as being in Detroit time.
     
  11. billgio

    billgio New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mine was saying I was in Shenzhen, China for a couple hours the other day
     
  12. ArtGuy

    ArtGuy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    14
    Yea, mine says Chicago and when I type in a different location, it says the location doesn't exist. This thing is pretty worthless - especially for being so prominent on the main page of the phone.
     
  13. JoshUng

    JoshUng Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    18
    Because for less than the price of a subsidized evo, you can buy a house.

    And, for a about the monthly price of the Evo $10/month plan, you can pay the mortgage on a house that could actually pass an inspection.

    The Evo may be big, but it isn't 900 square feet (I'm assuming the houses you hear selling for $100 aren't that big.)
     
  14. neoshi

    neoshi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    53
    It thinks I'm in Kansas when the GPS isn't on.

    I guess I should name my Evo Dorthy and tell her we're not in Kansas anymore. :p
     
  15. tsipa

    tsipa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    636
    Likes Received:
    111
    My friend had the same problem with the Incredible... turn on your GPS and refresh... should fix it for you.
     
  16. GaryColeman

    GaryColeman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    99
    Maybe it hears gunfire in the background.
     
  17. Premonition

    Premonition Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    2
    if you wanna fix this problem just go to settings and check the box in location that says "use wireless networks"
     
  18. ArtGuy

    ArtGuy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    14
    Hmmm... not on this end.
     
  19. ProudPapaG

    ProudPapaG Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    3
    I know how to fix this:

    We all trade phones with each other. Anyone in WallaWalla need an EVO?

    .:D

    .
     
  20. MKREdit

    MKREdit Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'm experiencing the same problem I guess I'm lucky that Detroit and Brooklyn are in the same time zone.
     
  21. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    57,606
    Likes Received:
    70,199
    Given that I'm from Detroit, I'll give you this: it's a great place to be from.

    Meanwhile...

    We're Not Detroit!

    (bummer that it won't play embedded... it's pretty good - I encourage watching that one)

    Meanwhile again....

    Detroit Sux - But Why?

    Meanwhile - ready to trade mine for someone in Boise....
     
  22. searcher61

    searcher61 Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    4
    Yeah... send it to me... I am very close to Detroit!!
     
    EarlyMon likes this.
  23. edriggers

    edriggers Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    82
    Hmm... has it seen you shoot anybody recently?
     
  24. GTCharged

    GTCharged Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    3
    Mine says I'm in Detroit too. Difference is, I actually am :p
     
  25. GTCharged

    GTCharged Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    3
    Okay, now that I see how you guys act towards Detroit in this forum, and actually think that you can buy a house with anywhere near the price of a Evo 4g, this second post is my last.
    Hint Hint: Houses go for $20K at the very least, that's with the house gutted.
    Horrible Forum.

    EDIT: I didn't notice you guys were being sarcastic. Sorry. read down further for explanation.
     

Share This Page

Loading...