Why does my phone do this to me?General


Last Updated:

  1. YoshiMan123

    YoshiMan123 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Alright, I have been having an extremely major problem with my phone...The first OTA update in December is when the problem first appeared. So after my phone reset from that update, there was a big X where it shows the signal screen, and when I took it off the lock screen, there were force closes on things like the phone app, I couldn't call anybody. So I reset my phone and all is fine. However, the next night, I turned my phone off, and it happened.

    All is well until about a month later, the next OTA (the January update) comes along. I was hesitant to update, but I did anyways. It worked fine after the update, but one day I turned my phone one, and I was greeted with that fine X and those force closes. I reset again, and the next day it happened. Today, it happened for the 5th time. Should I take my phone back?

    Does anybody know what is causing this? To me it seems the updates cause this, because I have been roaming here and seems that others have the problem after updates. How can I stop this from happening? Also, please note this only happens with the apps that come with the phone, apps that have been downloaded via the Market still work. One more thing, I have my phone on silent when I turn it off, but it still makes noises when the android dude waves his hand and when "htc" appears. Do I have to turn the media volume down for it to be silent at start-up? I don't remembering it doing that before the update...
     

    Advertisement
  2. pavirotten

    pavirotten Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    11
    I'd take it back to your nearest Verizon store and explain the problem to them. Seems to me that you got a bum phone.
     
  3. DarthSkirata

    DarthSkirata Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    I think you should re-flash your phone. This sounds to me like something in you OS is broken. They should be able to help you out with this at a Verizon store.
     
  4. YoshiMan123

    YoshiMan123 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    So, I should bring it into Verizon? I was wondering, I use Advanced Task Killer, and one time when I killed all my apps, the X appeared but quickly disappeared. So, could ATK be the problem? I don't think it is though, I have seen many people use that on here, and none seem to have this problem.
     
  5. DarthSkirata

    DarthSkirata Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    I highly doubt ATK is the problem. There would all sorts of posts about it if this were happening to others.
     
  6. Bswartz95

    Bswartz95 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,101
    Likes Received:
    41
    I've had this happen to me once, but rebooting solved the problem. It hasn't happened since.

    A few times, I've woken up in the morning and my 3g somehow shutdown, and to get that working again, I'll need to reset.
     
  7. YoshiMan123

    YoshiMan123 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, that's what I was saying. I really hate this happened.
     
  8. YoshiMan123

    YoshiMan123 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0

    I have tried rebooting my phone, but it still doesn't work.
     
  9. gtpdjw

    gtpdjw Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    38
    I have had it happen to me twice and really dont know what has caused it I have heard other ppl with the same problem on here some think it is a combo of apps on the phone, some think it is to much memory being used, some think it is the phone connected to the pc. its a good question that need to be addressed for those that are having the problem
     
  10. YoshiMan123

    YoshiMan123 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have noticed it is common when I have about 17 MB left for apps...
     
  11. bjf88

    bjf88 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    384
    Likes Received:
    37
    You might as well do a factory reset, they will probably have you do it when you go into the store. That way you can tell them you truely have tried everything and your phone is still not working correctly.

    I would also suggest you go ahead and try uninstalling ATK just to rule that out as an issue.
     
  12. jreed2560

    jreed2560 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,922
    Likes Received:
    439
    Yeah a hard reset would do you well. If you only have 17mb left for apps then you must have a ton. Try only downloading a couple at a time back on to your phone at first. If no problem then dl a couple more. That process should weed out the problem if it is an app. BTW I would download atk last. If you have it set to auto kill task then that it self might be a problem. It might be killing something its not supposed to be killing.
     
  13. tdavis42

    tdavis42 Guest

    I can't find that many useful apps in the store. What are you filling up on.....porn and Starbucks locators? :D
     
  14. AwesomeIT

    AwesomeIT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    22
    This is what I would recommend. I had an issue with the G-sensor not working when I manually flashed the January (MR2) update on my phone. I simply re-flashed it and the world was good again. You need to have the HTC sync software on your computer to do this. Also, the start up noise when your phone is on silent is normal. It will make that noise regardless of your setting upon boot.

    I would provide you a link to the MR2 update but it seems pcdphones has taken the Eris off the site so I can't. If you want the MR2 update to re-flash manually, PM me and I'll host it and give you a link to it so you can download.
     
  15. ErisDroid?

    ErisDroid? Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    8
    I had the same thing happen to my phone. I also had goole.gapps force close. What I did was remove the cache from all the google apps (you will have to re-enter your info) and I also had ATK and removed that. All seems to be fine. But I will let you know if it happens again.
     
  16. YoshiMan123

    YoshiMan123 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    No, I turned the media volume off on a game, and the phone is now silent at start-up.
     
  17. YoshiMan123

    YoshiMan123 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nah. I just like having a ton of apps, even though I will rarely use them.
     
  18. YoshiMan123

    YoshiMan123 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did it work with before you uninstalled ATK?
     
  19. jreed2560

    jreed2560 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,922
    Likes Received:
    439
    Anybody else think we found the problem? :rolleyes:
     
  20. YoshiMan123

    YoshiMan123 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    <_< I love the apps though. :( I try to use them. I don't keep the ones I hate at least.
     
  21. rigamrts

    rigamrts Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    1
    i would have to dissagree with ATK not being the culprit i've personally removed the app from my phone and have had no issues with the phone reseting. how i have come to the conclution is. i use pdanet and ATK. now if i install ATK no problems happen at all. the issues lies in when i use ATK for the first time within a few days my phone resets making it unusable till i do a hard reset. the problem is the reset is random so people who complain about other programs at the time they were using the phone atribute it to that app and not ATK which has been running in the background the whole time.

    we need more concreate evidence but i think ATK is the case.
     
  22. YoshiMan123

    YoshiMan123 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Uhhh....
     
  23. rigamrts

    rigamrts Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    1
    i'm just saying people are too quick to say no ATK is not cause to random phone resets. they are too busy trying to justify it has to be an OS issue. i mean that's one big OS flaw HTC missed to be the case at point and not be patched with an critical patch as soon as possible.

    i think the the phone reset issue is more an app gone wild with sense. my evidence is the two main programs i use on a regular basis are PDANET and ATK and one of which being on most peoples phones. i'm not saying ATK is at fault it's a compatibility issue which the app maker needs to fix and HTC has no obligation to make thier OS version fully compatible with ATK since they did not write the app.
     
  24. YoshiMan123

    YoshiMan123 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    My phone is not randomly resetting.
     
  25. rigamrts

    rigamrts Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    1

    not to start an argument over this.

    but i never shut my phone off so that's where i get the random restarts from with force closes upon full reboot. your situation is very similar to mine and others i've read about. your's just happened when the phone started up after being shut off for some time. i've read you full post before i even posted. i've seen other post that blame other apps for this but i have never installed any of those apps. the only common thing has to be one app that everybody has installed and ATK is one of those apps. it's not happening to all eris users cause a certain chain of events has to happen to make it crash the way it does. if it were an os issue everyone would be complaing about it.

    right now my phone's working fine without ATK and will keep watch on what happens.

    i also think this happens when you are near filling up your eris with apps.
    but only happens after using ATK after installing it.

    ATK might not even be the issue. it could just be as the phone cache builds up and get's near full capacity it crashes the phone and causes all the force closes cause it has no room to start up the services.

    the sprint hero did have a big mms issue a while back. so the fix they used could also cause the phone to crash if they limit the amount of data it could cache rather than clearing it over time.

    i'm just throwing ideas on what i've seen and the common links.

    for those looking for the mr2 patch

    http://www.pcdphones.com/phone_downloads.aspx?bid=126&cid=1&mid=353&carrier=Verizon%20Wireless

    it's still there i check it everyday to make sure no new updates slip by me. if a new link shows up i'll post it.
     

Share This Page

Loading...