Why does titanium require debug mode be turned on?


Last Updated:

  1. desperado

    desperado Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    5
    When you launch Titanium it checkes if you have USB debug set on and if not says it might cause issues with the app. Does anyone know what this is required?
     

    Advertisement
  2. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    12,064
    Likes Received:
    8,530
    Honestly, I've never used Titanium while hooked to the PC.
     
  3. desperado

    desperado Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    5
    I don't either but it still requires the option when I launch it. I would understand if I wanted to back up to the PC over usb but backup to SD card shouldn't require this option.
     
  4. 3L3C7R0

    3L3C7R0 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    it doesn't "require" it, it just recommends it. I don't know why it does though.
     
  5. desperado

    desperado Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    5
    good point but it "recommends it" saying "Your system settings may cause problems" well I don't want "problems" when I am backing up so I have to follow the instructions to feel my backups are legit :D
     
  6. Terabethia

    Terabethia Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,071
    Likes Received:
    311
    Not to be snarky, but what does it matter?

    I found that so many things I do with my phone require USB Debugging to be on that I just leave it on now. It's not really hurting anything to have it on so why keep turning it on and off?
     
  7. nkk

    nkk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    758
    Likes Received:
    565
    So I am going to hazard what may be an uneducated guess and say that what it does using busybox may, in some circumstances, may be disrupted by normal USB permissions. Thus, you have to use dubugging permissions. I would guess this would have more to do with the reinstallation of apps and reinstatement of system data than the backing up of those apps and data. I say this with only a basic knowledge of the Android platform, so perhaps some real devs can come in and correct me.

    -Nkk
     
  8. desperado

    desperado Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    5
    Not snarky at all, it's a good question. I am guessing that keeping the USB port open to my PC when I have it connected in "USB Charge Only" mode might charge slower because it's actually maintaining an open connection to the PC drivers. The notification bar shows a status of connected to PC in Debug mode when it's on so I prefer it to be off. Other than that I just like to know why apps require the things that they do especially when they are Root permission apps. I am not sure what the app could do now that it has USB debug connection to my PC.

    You also say that "many things you do on the phone require USB debugging." This is the first that I have seen. What are some of the others?
     
  9. Terabethia

    Terabethia Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,071
    Likes Received:
    311
    Changing boot animations and splash screens are two things that come to mind. There are others too, but I can't think of them all.

    And while this one doesn't really matter now that you are rooted, taking screen shots with SDK requires it. And I did that A LOT before being rooted and having the Shoot Me app.

    It will charge the same either way.

    But regardless, I do understand wanting to know what your app's are doing and why.
     

Share This Page

Loading...