Why don't more phones have a hard restart button?


Last Updated:

  1. noahjk

    noahjk Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    8
    It's pretty shitty when my ipod freezes and I can easily restart it but my dinc freezes and I need to pull the case, cover, and battery.

    Is there a way to set up a hard restart button on a rooted phone?
     

    Advertisement
  2. OfTheDamned

    OfTheDamned The Friendly Undead VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,691
    Likes Received:
    8,364
    The iPod requires a button for this because you can't pull the battery.

    I'd be more curious as to why your phone is freezing often enough that this would be useful.
     
  3. marefin

    marefin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    404
    Likes Received:
    31
    Hard reset on Android = pulling out the battery. At least that's what I do if the phone freezes up bad enough. Although I RARELY ever have to do this.
     
  4. No_u

    No_u Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    483
    Likes Received:
    45
    Why.....?
     
  5. IOWA

    IOWA Mr. Logic Pants Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    8,852
    Likes Received:
    2,367
    No I think he means a factory restore hard reset. Which needless to say, WOULD be VERY useful. All my old winmo phones had it. Along with physical wifi switches which I also miss.
     
  6. Demache

    Demache Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,011
    Likes Received:
    341
    No he means a hardware restart button (or button combo, I think a single button is a bad idea).
     
  7. IOWA

    IOWA Mr. Logic Pants Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    8,852
    Likes Received:
    2,367
    Umm.. ok that's wierd.
     

Share This Page

Loading...