Why is my WiFi slower than my 3G?Support


Last Updated:

  1. lemodular

    lemodular Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a D-link DIR-655 and a 6m cable broadband that I can consistently stream at around 8m. My wireless G laptops are fine and my main PC is hardwired. I'm sure it's my settings since I can get very high streams in other locations. I am currently averaging 500-800kbps with wifi and 1200-1500kbps with 3G.

    Any thoughts?
     

    Advertisement
  2. dr_trousers

    dr_trousers Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    2
    I too would like to know what's better, wifi or 3g (that's not quite what the OP is asking, but related)
     
  3. lemodular

    lemodular Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, the "better" one would be the one that will give you the best transmission. Use speedtest.net app to help you determine that. Usually wifi is much faster than 3G...except in my house.
     
  4. bthoward

    bthoward Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    1
    I get 6 to 9 Mbit on my wifi connection at home. Not that that answers your question but it does let you know that there is an issue.
     
  5. colnago

    colnago Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    3,091
    Likes Received:
    218
    Turn off wireless security, and see if speeds on the DROID improve.

    Make sure the router is transmitting at full power (some routers are adjustable), and also the same technology b, g, n. If some bands aren't used, say, "b", set the router to only send out "g".

    Also, you can try changing channels...maybe a cordless phone is interfering with the signal because its on the same channel.
     
  6. lemodular

    lemodular Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    I de-tuned my router to transmit to the farthest part of the house which is a good 80-100 ft away. I can see all my neighbors' router, even two houses away.

    I have already isolated the bandwidth to "b" and "g" only.

    The Dlink has an "auto" setting where it will pick the clearest channel and frequency.

    I'll try this, but is not what I would want. It will be the last alternative.

    Thanks for the suggestions.
     
  7. colnago

    colnago Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    3,091
    Likes Received:
    218
    bump
     
  8. MotoDroidHelpandInfo

    MotoDroidHelpandInfo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    0
    I didn't notice wifi being slower. Although i did not notice any improvement unless i was streaming video. I think it's either my crappy internet or Android isn't optimized well for Wi-Fi
     
  9. lemodular

    lemodular Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    I figured sitting 3 feet from a router that can broadcast over 100ft should not affect the signal strength (btw, I get full bars in the Droid and it reports the signal as "excellent").

    tried to isolate the "g" and and still no improvement. I disconnect and reconnect the Droid's wifi each time.

    The firmware is updated per the router's update program, however, there are newer updates on their web site.

    edit. I've been turning stuff on and off in all sorts of combination including the security features in the router sand did not see any significant improvement. The best I was able to achieve was 1218kbps (dn) and 1030 (up). Putting the Droid'd ip on the DMZ list did not make a difference either.
     
  10. lemodular

    lemodular Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was at a hotspot and got 6mps down even with a "weak" (one bar) signal, so I think the wifi on the droid is fine.
     
  11. colnago

    colnago Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    3,091
    Likes Received:
    218
    I get 10Mb and 7Mb on my Comcast and Fios circuits respectively, using Netgear SOHO class routers, hitting speedtest.net. I don't think there is anything inherently wrong with the DROID's NIC or IP stac...something off with your config(s), your particular Droid, or your router.

    Is your router's firmware up to date?
     
  12. bthoward

    bthoward Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'm getting great speeds and have a hidden SSID wifi point with WPA2 enabled and its limited to only specific MAC addresses. There isn't much more security I can enable without going to a MUCH more expensive AP.
     
  13. lemodular

    lemodular Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    My setup is the same, I just can't get a good stream to/from my Droid. Like I said, other wireless devices works fine. I know the Droid works fine too, just not with my current setup. I even DMZ'd the Droid and it still wont go past 1000kbps.
     
  14. Tymanthius

    Tymanthius Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    1
    There's an app called wifi analyzer. Try down loading that & see if there are others near the same channel?
     
  15. lemodular

    lemodular Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did a modem swap, now getting in the high 8's and low 9's Mbps dn and over 1 Mbps up. Internet apps are FLYING!

    So the router was fine, I am going to have to reload the config files that I had before all the alterations to the router. Ironically, I now have a Motorola modem.

    Thank you all for your inputs.
     

Share This Page

Loading...