why isnt the n1 capacative?


Last Updated:

  1. LABRAT

    LABRAT Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    4
    i love my hero i really do.. but like everyone else im allways on the lookout for the next big thing (or is that just me :0) )

    the nexus one seems to tick so many boxes... why the hell did they cripple it with a resistive touch screen?

    wouldnt a hero with a snapdragon and 2.1 have been better?
     

    Advertisement
  2. lekky

    lekky Lover VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    5,252
    Likes Received:
    1,266
    Nexus one IS capacitive....
     
  3. gentlefury

    gentlefury Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    1
    yeah i dont know where your getting this info.
     
  4. pulsarman

    pulsarman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    i think the op means multi touch, im not sure if it is or not but i heard that its not and in the launch for it there was no multi touch zoom just double tapping etc
     
  5. LABRAT

    LABRAT Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    4
    i read it was resistive
     
  6. Martina

    Martina Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Apparently multi-touch will be available in European models
     
  7. gentlefury

    gentlefury Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    1
    nope, it's a capacitive touch screen just like the droid and iphone and mutli-touch is available in 3rd party apps like dolphin and picsay, just like the droid
     
  8. Napster

    Napster Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    You read wrong. Its obvious you never even touch an N1.
     
  9. BacteriaEP

    BacteriaEP Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm usng my N1 right now and, as somebody who's used both resistive (HTC Touch, LG Dare) and capacitive screens (T-Mob G1, iPhone, iPod Touch, Nexus One) I can tell you without a doubt in my mind that the N1's screen is capacitive.

    It's as accurate as my iPod Touch and feels just as great. The only thing missing is the multi-touch which is a bummer, but not a deal breaker. I rarely use it on my iPod Touch and I rarely miss it on my Android phones (G1, N1).

    Hope this helps.
     
  10. afine1

    afine1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    1
    i think the op is just [REMOVED BY MOD]. he is right the screen in not capasative....it is however capacitive.....move on people, nothing to see here.
     
  11. JSchu22

    JSchu22 Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    483
    Likes Received:
    29
    I think you're.... getting reported. Yep.
     
  12. Carl C

    Carl C Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,062
    Likes Received:
    38
    Infractions have been issued to those need be. Please refrain from being disrespectful...

    Thank you

    Carl
     
  13. markouk

    markouk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    0
    There is no excuse for being disrespectful but sometimes it's just the way that people word their questions. The question may have been better presented as "Does the N1 have a capacitive screen?". In the body the OP could have elaborated in the body, "I heard that the N1 screen is resistive, is this true?".
    I think sometimes people have difficulty communicating what they're trying to get across. Don't be too harsh on the OP, I just think people are a bit sensitive about any slurs on their new baby.
    Don't take it to heart everyone, I didn't!!
     
  14. Carl C

    Carl C Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,062
    Likes Received:
    38
    Hi Markouk,

    Theirs nothing wrong with the OP's question or post at all :) & Androidforums promotes and respects peoples opinions. Thats what forums are all about!

    I simply wrote that as Someone had called another member an offensive term being disrespectful. everything else was fine ;)

    Carl
     
  15. markouk

    markouk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, I noticed that. No need for naughty words. Let's all kiss and make up! **Where are the lovey smilies**
    That is a bad sign on any forum! Seriously, maybe worth looking into someone!
     
  16. afine1

    afine1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    1
    It was not meant to be mean and it was in no way a bad word. It actually looks worse now that you removed it. Geez you guys are way too sensitive. And honestly I could really care less.
     
  17. ManMythLegend

    ManMythLegend Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    4
    He must work for Engadget !!
     
  18. Promo

    Promo Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    i can't go an where without hearing people whine about the IPHONE not having multi touch. i mean N1.

    get it? it not an apple its a HTC/google phone and multi-touch is available through 3rd party apps. I've been using dolphin and have used pinch zoom without problem.

    and other apps too that have it programed into their apps.
     

Share This Page

Loading...