Why no Desire HD or Desire Z for AT&T?General


Last Updated:

  1. ugnut

    ugnut New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    They are both phones that would work on AT&T's network, right? I am so ready to get a damn Android phone, and I want an HTC w/ a big screen, good camera & HD video, 2.2(but I'll settle for 2.1 with the promise of soon), and I want it on contract w/ AT&T for $200 or so. It that asking too much AT&T??
     

    Advertisement
  2. mthguy

    mthguy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    1
    it would be like a nexus one on AT&T from tmobile, voice would work fine, but the data isn't the right rfreq.
     
  3. darklide

    darklide Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    595
    Likes Received:
    21
    Well what network is this phone is it quad band and if not what frequency?
     
  4. mthguy

    mthguy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    1
    AT&T uses GSM (Voice) 850 & 1900 and HSDPA (DATA) 850 & 1900
    T-Mobile uses GSM (Voice) 1900 and HSPA (DATA) 1700 & 2100

    The Desire HD and Desire Z support
    GSM (Voice) 850/900/1800/1900 and UMTS/HSPA (Data) 900/2100

    so you could use the 2G voice network on either of those carriers, and get spotty 3G on Tmobile and no 3G on at&t. it is unfortunate, I would love to rock a Desire HD on either AT&T or T-Mobile.
     
  5. fortesquieu

    fortesquieu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,079
    Likes Received:
    144
    That's UK specs, you need to wait for US version if they ever come to US.
     
  6. zorxd

    zorxd Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    2
    Not quite. T-Mobile HSPA uses both 1700 and 2100 MHz at the same time. 1700 MHz is for upload and 2100 MHz is for download.
    So if your phone supports 2100 MHz only, you don't get any HSPA data at all.
    But in all cases, you get slow data in GPRS/EDGE mode on the 1900 and/or 850 MHz bands.
     
  7. Baldilocks

    Baldilocks Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,242
    Likes Received:
    159
    Exactly. Just wait for a Telus version of it like with the original Desire.
     
  8. ugnut

    ugnut New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    BUT I want this phone, one like it or at the very least more choices for a 2.2(but 2.1 would be OK) with good still cam w/HD video, at least a 3.7' screen & a 1Ghz processor on AT&T on contract @ $200 or so. I have only 1 option, the Captivate, while it seems mostly OK, it isn't choice, its that or nothing!
     
  9. sookster54

    sookster54 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    906
    Likes Received:
    56
    I know the Desire HD and Z coming to Canada is the rage, but after doing some research I haven't seen any evidence of the HD nor the Z coming to Canada, I can't find it on the Canada or US section of HTC's sites, and the listed bands don't match Canada's bands. But Mobilesyrup insists it will.

    I was pretty sure the Z would come here and I doubt the HD would, but it's not looking like it so far. I hope I'm wrong.
     
  10. Baldilocks

    Baldilocks Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,242
    Likes Received:
    159
    Well, the Z is coming to T-Mobile USA, but won't have the bands for AT&T nor Canada.

    Here's hoping that the the Desire HD will find it's way to Telus. :)
     
  11. yhbae

    yhbae Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    1
    Looks like Desire Z is coming to Canada after all, and Bell is getting it. It also means now AT&T, Rogers and Telus users can use the unlocked version of this phone!

    I am still waiting for the Canadian version of Desire HD...
     

Share This Page

Loading...