why ram only 176mbSupport


Last Updated:

  1. djzame

    djzame Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    When i purchased the phone i knew that it had 256 mb of ram but when i checked with ram manager it said that i have 176mb of total ram what i going on???
     

    Advertisement
  2. olbriar

    olbriar Moderator Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    16,604
    Likes Received:
    10,250
    I'm not familiar with your phone but I'm guessing the missing ram is allocated for the phone's internal use.
     
  3. djzame

    djzame Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    i thought that too but from these 176mb i only have available 70-80mb. the other mbs are consumed from the programs....so after all i purchased it with 256 in mind and then i find myself with 70-80mbs in the best situation....thats a bit unfair.. i am sure ther is a way to unlock all the 256 mbs.. plz help me forum
     
  4. djzame

    djzame Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is there any way to have all 256 mb of ram??
     
  5. Lebo

    Lebo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2012
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    22
    The short answer is no.

    The sonic has 256 MB of RAM ( Random access memory used by the LINUX based android operating system to operate the phone. )

    and 256 MB of Storage. ( Where the operating system and programs are stored.)

    You then have the ability to add a Micro SD card for additional storage.

    Linux and thus Android does not handle RAM the same way as Windows. Free RAM does not necessarily mean better performance in this case.
     
    klsdream and djzame like this.
  6. djzame

    djzame Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok i understand....thnx mate ;)
     
  7. klsdream

    klsdream Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2012
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    6
    how to fix "low on space", when it appear, then the phone get slow :(
     

Share This Page

Loading...