Why won't it play wma files?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by permazorch, May 11, 2011.

  1. permazorch

    permazorch Well-Known Member
    35

    So, my hero, rooted and all (see sig, below) used to play wma files through the default music player. Now, it says "this player does not support this type of audio file." Tried downloading 3, and ran into other problems.

    Any clues?
     

    Advertisement

  2. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    1,323

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,296
    7,928
    1,323
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    Try downloading Winamp from the market and see if that plays your files


     
    permazorch likes this.
  3. permazorch

    permazorch Well-Known Member
    35

    I'll give it a go, dB. Thanks!
     
  4. permazorch

    permazorch Well-Known Member
    35

    Nope. No joy. It's as if the files are invisible.

    They worked fine, a month or two ago.
    They play fine through my laptop.
     
  5. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    1,323

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,296
    7,928
    1,323
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    Are you on AOSP GB Rom ??


     
  6. permazorch

    permazorch Well-Known Member
    35

    Yes, Indeed.
    Incidentally, I love this sucker. I'd like to try firerats, too.
     
  7. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    1,323

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,296
    7,928
    1,323
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    Try dong this, go to apps/Dev Tools/ and tap media scanner, once it says media scanner is done, then reboot your phone and try you r media player again to see


     
    permazorch likes this.
  8. permazorch

    permazorch Well-Known Member
    35

    No success, again. I thought that would do it for sure.
     
  9. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    1,323

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,296
    7,928
    1,323
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    I will research it more and report back, according to the HTC website the Hero does not play WMV files
     
    permazorch likes this.
  10. LBPHeretic

    LBPHeretic Well-Known Member
    213

    May 29, 2010
    2,368
    507
    213
    Senior Software Engineer
    Wilmington, Delaware
    permazorch likes this.
  11. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    1,323

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,296
    7,928
    1,323
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    I thought he meant WMA files also, but in his post he said WMV, I think he made a typo either in the post or the subject, we will wait to see what he meant



     
  12. LBPHeretic

    LBPHeretic Well-Known Member
    213

    May 29, 2010
    2,368
    507
    213
    Senior Software Engineer
    Wilmington, Delaware
    Oh yeah. He DID put .wmv files.

    Haha. I just saw audio and assumed .wma files.
     
  13. permazorch

    permazorch Well-Known Member
    35

    Hey, fellows! The files in question are all audio and named wma on my systems.

    And thanks for the recommendations!
     
  14. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    1,323

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,296
    7,928
    1,323
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    OK because that makes a difference as your thread said WMV

     
  15. permazorch

    permazorch Well-Known Member
    35

    I think it says, "Why won't it play wma files?" Really, and for true I haven't changed it!
    Regardless, thanks for the help.

    I'm downloading the PowerAMP app as I type this.
     
  16. permazorch

    permazorch Well-Known Member
    35

    Okay, well, PowerAMP was able to 'see' and play all of my .wma files, just fine. Unfortunately, it can't be bothered to see the mp3s purchased from amazon.com.

    (NOTE: I just figured out how to add amazon mp3s from settings! Hooray!)

    Between the native music player and PowerAMP, I've got it covered, I guess.

    This is still a mystery, as the problem simply presented with no warning.

    I thank you both, very much, DonB & LBPHeretic!
    I appreciate it!
     
  17. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    1,323

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,296
    7,928
    1,323
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    That was the confusion, your title said why won't it play WMA files, but your thread said it use to play WMV files, so I was not sure if it was a typo, no biggie, glad you got it working for now


     
    permazorch likes this.
  18. permazorch

    permazorch Well-Known Member
    35

    d'oh!!!
     
  19. LBPHeretic

    LBPHeretic Well-Known Member
    213

    May 29, 2010
    2,368
    507
    213
    Senior Software Engineer
    Wilmington, Delaware
    Glad that it worked out for you. It is a shame that the Amazon .mp3 files do not show up though.

    Perhaps there is a work around. I will continue to look around and let you know if I see anything.
     
    permazorch likes this.
  20. permazorch

    permazorch Well-Known Member
    35

    No, I found out how to add files in settings! It's working fine, except I can't make ringtones out of my precious .wma files!
    But, that's for me to whine at PowerAMP about, my esteemed and helpful comrade!

    Thanks, again!
     
  21. LBPHeretic

    LBPHeretic Well-Known Member
    213

    May 29, 2010
    2,368
    507
    213
    Senior Software Engineer
    Wilmington, Delaware
    Hahaha. I found that setting too, but did not have time to check back here until just now.

    I am glad that it all works for you. Yes, for ringtones you will need to convert them to .mp3 files. I use Ringdroid. It works quite well.
     
  22. hmw919

    hmw919 New Member
    5

    May 23, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    I'm having the same problem with my Samsung Epic. AstroPlayer Nova basically stopped playing .wma files after having been playing them, other players (native, Winamp) don't even see the .wma files. I'd rather not switch to Poweramp as I don't think my playlists will port over.
     
  23. hmw919

    hmw919 New Member
    5

    May 23, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    I just downloaded Poweramp and while it plays both types of files, I can't seem to figure out how to put them on the same playlist, so if I wanted to have a playlist with all my music on it, no go. I'm starting to think I'm going to have to re-rip all my .wma files from my CDs as .mp3 files. Am I wrong?
     
  24. Cornucopia

    Cornucopia New Member
    5

    Jun 11, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    I bought a ZTE V9 with Android 2.2 (Froyo) and was shocked to find I couldn't play the entire .wma library I sync'ed from the desktop with Media Player. So I downloaded the free PowerAmp trial version from Android Market and it's a gem. I'll probably shell out the $5 for the full version when the trial expires in a few weeks...
     
  25. LBPHeretic

    LBPHeretic Well-Known Member
    213

    May 29, 2010
    2,368
    507
    213
    Senior Software Engineer
    Wilmington, Delaware
    It is nice to see that the information provided helped someone else out too. Thank you for posting your experiences here.

    I hope the paid version works out for you too. Enjoy.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...