Wi-Fi network problem


Last Updated:

  1. magnificence

    magnificence Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    I just bought a new phone, but, when I try to connect it with Wi-Fi to our router, it can't find our router, not even the neighbors router. When I'm at another place, I can find various routers but not ours, while my mother-in-law's android phone can... Does anybody know how to fix this or is this a hardware problem?

    Thanks.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,225
    It's most likely a matter of properly configuring your device's wifi settings for the router it can't see, magnificence.

    You'll need to have all the information needed to input in the wifi settings area of the menus.

    Menu > settings > wireless and networks > wifi (checkbox) / wifi settings > add wifi network > (select wifi network name, you have to know its name) > input password, etc.
     
  3. magnificence

    magnificence Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, I did that. The weird thing is, our router doesn't show up in the list, and adding a wifi network doesn't do the trick (prob because our router isn't invisible in the first place). I already tried configuring our network, but that where the problem arises.
     
  4. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,225
    Is the router's MAC address filtering enabled? You can acquire the device's MAC address in the wireless and networking advanced menu, if so, then input it to the router's configuration settings.

    Which phone do you have, by the way?
     
  5. magnificence

    magnificence Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, I'll check, but it is weird that not only our router is not showing up, but the neighbours router isn't either, while my mother-in-law sees both of them.
     
  6. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,225
    What phone do you have?

    If it is able to detect public wifi networks, then the phone is fine and we're probably just talking about a configuration problem in either the phone or the router or both.

    The neighbor's router may be configured in a similar way as your home network's router, thus the problem.

    It could be as simple as the router's SSID being hidden rather than broadcast, etc.
     
  7. magnificence

    magnificence Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, but it's not hidden, my laptop can just see it. I also tried adding the router manually (for hidden routers) but that didn't work either.
     
  8. magnificence

    magnificence Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, so, we don't have MAC filtering on our router.
     
  9. magnificence

    magnificence Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, maybe this is worth noticing:
    I don't know how precise and when my phone should be able to track my location, but it only works when I'm in the car. Also, when I saw the Wi-Fi networks, I was in the car too. Maybe it got something to do with it?
     
  10. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,225
    I can't seem to get you to post what phone you have.

    Perhaps you can PM me..I won't tell. :D
     
  11. magnificence

    magnificence Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh xD
    I keep forgetting, sorry xD
    I got the Dell Streak.
     
  12. RedMist

    RedMist Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2009
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    7
    Did you find a solutions. I have a Dell Streak that cannot see a particular wifi access point
     
  13. magnificence

    magnificence Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    I called tech support, got a replacement and it works now. GPS works much better now too.
    If other devices can see that wifi point, I would just call tech support. They'll send you a new phone and you have to return your phone, but you can wait with returning after you received your new phone. And no costs other than calling might be are involved.
     

Share This Page

Loading...