• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

wi-fi problem, new to wi-fi/android

mikriii

Lurker
Feb 1, 2012
Greetings everyone,
I'm new to wi-fi and android stuff, so please if someone can help me with my problem. My phone shows that I am connected to my wireless connection, but I can't acces the internet. I've read some posts on other forums but I didn't find what I need.
I'm using Belkin wireless G router ver 7004yy, and the phone is HTC Sensation
Please help me this is so frustrating :thinking:

Although you've probably checked already, I would make sure that you're entering the correct password-key for your wireless network. If you're convinced that you have the correct info, I would attempt to log into a different network to see if that clears up the issue.

I'm not using password at all, and I can connect to other wi-fi connections without any problems. I think the solution for this problem is something about static IP and DST, but I just don't know how to do that, I'm kinda new into this...

Upvote 0
Have you tried setting up a password and then connecting to it? Have you restarted the phone? Have you tried the phone on other routers?

Yes, everything of that. Internet is working on public hotspots, and at other wi-fi connections. And I tryed setting the password, then without it, and also I tryed restarting phone and router but it's the same, wi-fi connected and good signal, but no acces to internet

Upvote 0
I have seen this exact problem in other posts and never really seen an answer given. First I do not see how the phone can tell you that your have service (the wifi bars in notification bar) if you are truly not connected to a network.

OP states that the phone works on public WiFi access but not at home with his specific router.

In WiFi settings there is an "advanced" toggle that lets one assign a static ip and a specific port. Not sure how to do that and it seems confusing.