wi-fi questionSupport


Last Updated:

  1. SDscorch

    SDscorch Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    568
    Likes Received:
    9
    does it switch over to a wifi network when one is available??

    in other words, is wifi "preferred"??



    it seems so

    just wanted to confirm it
     

    Advertisement
  2. Edaze55

    Edaze55 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    973
    Likes Received:
    1
    This has been my experience as well. I went out for lunch yesterday and driving it notified me of an open network and asked me if I wanted to connect. This also wasnt the first time it asked to connect to an open network.

    For the most part, I keep my WiFi off now.
     
  3. nathanotis

    nathanotis Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    17
    WiFi is faster than 3G... Why wouldn't you want to connect at any given spot? Or are you referring to the hassle of saying "no" every time it asks?

    n.
     
  4. SDscorch

    SDscorch Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    568
    Likes Received:
    9
    wifi is faster - but it also sucks down batt

    and.. while you're not connecting, its "yelling" extra loud to try to find one (the cell ph radio does this too - that's why your batt will drain faster when you're out of coverage)



    me? i'm leaving it on - screw it

    if it becomes a problem, i'll modify my approach


    so far i haven't seen batt performance enough to justify other ppl's squawkin about it
     
  5. SDscorch

    SDscorch Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    568
    Likes Received:
    9
    wifi is faster - but it also sucks down batt

    and.. while you're not connecting, its "yelling" extra loud to try to find one (the cell ph radio does this too - that's why your batt will drain faster when you're out of coverage)



    me? i'm leaving it on - screw it

    if it becomes a problem, i'll modify my approach


    so far i haven't seen batt performance enough to justify other ppl's squawkin about it
     
  6. tubes6al4v

    tubes6al4v New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    When the Hero connects to a wifi hotspot, it will route data through there. However, by default the phone will ask before connecting to an open wifi that has not been used before. There is an app called Wefi, which can be set to auto connect to any open spots it detects.

    What I do: Use my unlimited data plan except when I am at home or a trusted network (or out of coverage).
     
  7. tubes6al4v

    tubes6al4v New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    When the Hero connects to a wifi hotspot, it will route data through there. However, by default the phone will ask before connecting to an open wifi that has not been used before. There is an app called Wefi, which can be set to auto connect to any open spots it detects.

    What I do: Use my unlimited data plan except when I am at home or a trusted network (or out of coverage).
     
  8. Edaze55

    Edaze55 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    973
    Likes Received:
    1
    To answer your question, its turned off mostly to save battery life. Wifi isnt an option at work, and even if it was, I would have to play by the network rules, so thats no good.

    I dont really feel the need to use the WiFi at home when I have a perfectly good computer staring me in the face.

    Should I be out and about. I might turn it on. Thats why I have a switch set up for it. Should I need it. As it stands, in most places, I wont need it.
     
  9. Merago

    Merago Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    7
    Just to confirm the original question, wi-fi is preferred yes. I contacted HTC when I got mine to have this offically confirmed. However, it's worth bearing in mind that by default, whilst your phone is in standby or sleep mode, it drops the wifi to save on battery power.
     
  10. thezero4

    thezero4 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I use the program Locale to turn on my wifi when I get home and also it turns the ringer on. But this seems like a good solution for me get wifi at home without changing anything and I set it to turn the wifi radio off below 50%.
     

Share This Page

Loading...