Wi-Fi Ruler


Last Updated:

  1. little_green_man

    little_green_man Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1

    Advertisement
  2. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    1,919
    Can you tell us exactly what this does?
     
  3. little_green_man

    little_green_man Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1
    OK, here's my help file:

    Intro

    Wi-Fi Ruler is designed to take the tedium of out managing your Wi-Fi connections.

    Place your access points into categories (rules). Each rule has characteristics than you can setup.

    Some Rules

    The app comes with some pre-made rules.
    For example, home is the highest priority. Since you probably want to connect to that access point whenever its in range.

    Have you ever connected to an access point that seems to be open but presents you with a login as soon as you start browsing? Give those access points the paywall rule to avoid them.

    Sometimes you just want to use an access point but you'll never be around there again and you don't want it cluttering up any lists. That's what the driveby rule is for. These access points are deleted after 24 hours.
    Click on the Rules tab from the main screen to see more.

    By Number

    Wi-Fi routers come with default names like linksys and default. Sometimes people don't bother to change the name. So you can have several different access points all called linksys you want to manage.
    Luckily every access point has a unique number (the BSSID). Wi-Fi Ruler lets you assign a rule to the access point called linksys with a certain BSSID.

    Auto Driveby

    If you press Menu > Preferences you'll see an option to automatically add open access points as rule driveby. This means as you walk around the app will connect to access points, maybe your mail will download, then later it will delete this access points... all with no intervention from you.

    In the background

    The app is continuously working to follow the rules and get you connected. If you have a connection with an access point that isn't the current highest priority it will not disconnect. You can do that manually if you wish.
     
  4. little_green_man

    little_green_man Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1

Share This Page

Loading...