1. Introducing Channels - a new way to chat with other Android users!
    Dismiss Notice

Wi-Fi Tethering


Last Updated:

  1. trebor7

    trebor7 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Now that we have root for the Rise, is it possible to use it for tethering? If so, what tethering apps are the best, as in causing the least problems?
     

    Advertisement
  2. jmz

    jmz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    562
    Likes Received:
    571
    Wifi tether for Root users is usually a safe bet. Might have to play with some settings on it to get it to work right...
     
    mcgraham89 likes this.
  3. NumberXV

    NumberXV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2012
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    7
    Get Wifi Tether For Root User

    Open the app and go to settings
    Change device profiles to Generic ICS/JB (wlan0)
    Click on routing fix
    Done

    You should now have WiFi Tether.. add a pass code if you want

    (Credit goes to howlofdawn I'm just posting this up)
     
    AQAA likes this.
  4. mjkinneyx

    mjkinneyx Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I use Barnacle, it seems faster than WiFi Tether and doesn't lose connection as much.
     
  5. joshua8790

    joshua8790 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2012
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    8
    I used to use barnacle until I had the evo... barnacle didn't like the Evo, but wifi tether worked the best.

    wifi tether is what I used on the Rise, and it works nicely.
     
  6. rwperkinsjr

    rwperkinsjr Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    I use WiFi Tether for Root Users, it works great.
     
  7. OverByter

    OverByter Resident Slide Rule Guru

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    4,000
    Likes Received:
    921
    If it's on Virgin it amounts to an exercise in frustration considering the abysmally slow 3G speeds.
     
  8. edtrud

    edtrud Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    4
    I can't even use any root features! Its telling me to get supersu pro? Its blocking all the wifi tethering
     
  9. dustinmerk

    dustinmerk New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    i need some help i tried changing the profile to generic ics/jb (wlan0) and turned on routing fix but it just keeps loading and nothing works im using the kyocera rise vm 4.0.4 the device is rooted but its doing nothing any other opinions on what to do in the settings or another app to use?
     
  10. dustinmerk

    dustinmerk New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    What settings are you using on the barnacle I can't get it to work on my krocera rise from vm?
     

Share This Page

Loading...