1. Introducing Channels - a new way to chat with other Android users!
    Dismiss Notice

Widget Wanted....


Last Updated:

  1. og.77

    og.77 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is there a widget or something out there i can place on my homescreen to switch between 2g and 3g?? Auto switch on the phone doesn't work great.
    I don't get great service at home and have to have it in 2g mode only but everywhere else 3g+ works fine. Its a pain going into settings evrytime i get home or leave home.....
     

    Advertisement
  2. CarsnGadgets

    CarsnGadgets Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,067
    Likes Received:
    252
    get 'extended controls' from the marketplace its the best switch widget I have seen and includes a 2g/3g one and loads of others with lots of customisation.
     
  3. Karlohumpy

    Karlohumpy Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thats not really a proper widget though, just directs you to settings. I think curvefish do one.
     
  4. sanchezero

    sanchezero Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    3
    andromax has a switcher widget that has a direct button for this, not a link, and it's free.
     
  5. ianb11

    ianb11 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    13
  6. tremblingwater

    tremblingwater Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    4
    Look at SwitchPro. I use that and its great.
     
  7. sudkcoce

    sudkcoce Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    7
    I use 2G-3G widget. It takes you to the Mobile network settings screen which is good enough for me.
    Search for 2G on market if that's what you need...
     
  8. 1981

    1981 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    9
    I am confused between 'SWITCHWIDGET PRO' and 'EXTENDED CONTROLS'. any advise on which is better. both are paid apps, i guess.
     
  9. tremblingwater

    tremblingwater Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    4
    I used extended controls but the toggle switch for 3G didn't quite work the way i wanted it to. It changed an APN setting or something. Sorry i can't be to clear but in order for it to work i had to have my 3G on from mobile networks on, then use the toggle switch for it to work, it didn't directly affect that option in the menu.

    Well that is what happened to me. Then i got switch pro and i didn't really have to do anything, works great :)
     
  10. 1981

    1981 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    9
    'andromax' app is cool . especially the phoneinfo part-customisable well, the switcher could be better. wondering how it wud drain the battery. let me have a look.

    just bought the app 'swichpro'. very nice app. looks goods and does all wat it says without any delay, much better than the andromax-switcher, i guess.
    was wondering whether the app 'extended controls' had similar functions or even better than switchpro except for that 2g-3g issue??
    thanks
     
  11. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304

    On extended controls, to turn mobile data off, it used to change APN. but now when you add it, there is a choice. You can choose APN or switch off in settings.
     
  12. Roze

    Roze Hiding behind a mystery VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    9,813
    Likes Received:
    2,183
    Thread moved to Android Application as it's Android related and not just device related :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...