Wierd problem/question re: HTC People widgetSupport


Last Updated:

  1. HeikoMax

    HeikoMax Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    1
    Sorry if this has been posted before but my search did not yield a helpful answer.

    A strange thing happened with my HTC People widget. I had it the "regular" way where you set a default number to call when the person was tapped. In order to see the contact's other numbers you have to very carefully tap the name bar underneath the person's photo. It is a tricky operation and I have accidentally called the contact below many, many times. I think it is a huge PITA. But today, without any intentional action by me, my HTC People widget now looks like below. Note the red circled example. The note card icon denotes "information" so now when I tap the contact, instead of calling the default number it brings up that contact's list of numbers. That is how I prefer it so I can choose to call cell phone, office, or home.

    The problem is, I don't know how to replicate it. I would like for all of the contacts to have the information come up. I would rather tap twice to make a call and have to select the number than deal with mistapping the little name bar constantly. (Some of you feel my pain, I'm sure.)

    Does anyone know how to do this intentionally? I played around for a while and couldn't do it.

    Note: Whatever caused it made duplicates of all my HTC People. The shot below has some of them deleted as I tried to figure it out while some still show the double. The other screen shot is just for fun. :)
     

    Attached Files:


    Advertisement
  2. HeikoMax

    HeikoMax Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    1
    Never mind. I was messing with the contact with the information icon and upon opening the list of numbers, once you tap one it becomes the default number. :mad: So for whatever reason, my HTC People widget duplicated the contacts.

    I still hate having to delicately press the name bar to show the list of alternate phone numbers. :mad::mad::mad:
     
  3. el viejo

    el viejo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    9

    One of my favorite contacts did exactly as you described yesterday, for no reason that I can think of. As you said, when I chose it, I was asked to pick the default action. Now, the widget doesn't even work any more. It detects my finger press, but no call is made. I've deleted it and replaced it on the screen, with no success. I shouldn't even try, since I hate how it works anyway. I'm just very OCD in wanting to understand why. :rolleyes:
     
  4. kbussen

    kbussen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you go into your programs list and then select people, once there just tap a single contact, Hit your menu button and if you selected a contact that is in your people widget, there should be an option that says remove. Hit that and it will remove the contact from your people widget.
     
  5. armandov99

    armandov99 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    4
    haha, i didn't know you could tap the name bar under the contact to bring up the info...thanks!
     
  6. TitanAlum

    TitanAlum Active Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    4
    Slightly off topic but I'd like to know why some of my contacts don't show up in the "all" contacts list after I add them to a group. Anyone else experiencxe this?

    btw I too would like all of the contact info to show up when you press as opposed to the primary number.
     
  7. jeffreynothing43

    jeffreynothing43 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    5
    cause people is about...PEOPLE!! its HTCs way of socially integrating people into your contacts. if you go into 'phone' and press someone, you call their primary number. people allows you to group and check updates for whatever networking site you have them connected through. for example, by adding people to favorites, you can customize a voicemail by using google voice. then they only hear that voicemail for your 'favorites.' dig a little deeper into the 'people' app and check out what it does. not sure why a contact disappears when you group them...that's never happened to me...sorry.
     
  8. V425

    V425 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    22
    The people widget is meant for one touch calling/messaging. What might be a better option for you would be to make shortcuts to your favorite contacts which can be set for the contact card (or a phone number or texting). Or use the "starred" live folder which takes you to all of your favorites in one icon.
     
  9. pedron

    pedron New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not sure if this is still an issue after 6 months but if it is here's what i found about the people widget.

    First of all to avoid inadvertently calling your contacts in the widget you can use a call confirmation app like "Call Confirm" on the Market. This app prevents me from calling my friends in the middle of the night when i was playing with my phone in bed :)

    I also found that if you have some kind of a link in People between 2 contacts (eg. you can have John Smith twice in People, once with a home number and another with a cell phone number and then "link" them, as People allows you to do) then when you click on John Smith's picture in the widget it'll open your contact's page in People rather then calling John Smith directly. Kinda a roundabout way but this can potentially be used to configure the widget to open the contact page rather than calling the contact when you click on their picture.
     

Share This Page

Loading...