Wifi conflicts with wireless routerSupport


Last Updated:

  1. fromohio

    fromohio New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have had this issue since brining my EVO home 2 months ago.

    • I turn on wifi and connect to my home network with no problems.
    • After random amount of time I lose internet (anywhere from 10 minutes to an hour).
    • Everything connected to my wireless router loses internet (hardwired and wireless). Wireless signal stays connected to all devices, just no internet.
    • Pull the plug on the wireless router and do a hard reset and internet comes back on.

    I am positive my EVO is the cause, as this problem only happens when I turn the wifi on. Any ideas on what to look for?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Evo

    Evo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    53
    I don't have a solution, just a similar problem. Are you sure this problem doesn't happen with the Evo out of the equation? Do you have a laptop that you use all the time and the internet stays on? Because I have a Trendnet wireless router, and it seems to randomly lose connection like you described above. My problem happens with my laptop and seems to be an issue with the router not my computer, so I think you may have a similar problem to me. i dont think its the evo.

    Another note, I don't lose internet as much since I created a password to connect, so you may try that if you haven't yet.
     
  3. akazabam

    akazabam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    4,418
    Likes Received:
    1,387
    You also might want to install wifi analyzer and see if somebody near you is using the same channel. If so, use a different one, and try again.
     
  4. Rigmaster

    Rigmaster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,584
    Likes Received:
    220
    Wifi can be impacted by other wireless devices. If you're less than 20' feet like I am from neighbors, that can be a real issue. The offenders are usually other routers, cordless phones, and other wireless devices like printers and media servers.

    Could also just be low signal quality from a cable provider. My cable signal quality drops significantly from time to time and my router's the first device affected.
     
    Mr. Ed likes this.
  5. fromohio

    fromohio New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the input.

    I know the problem is specific to the EVO. We have 4 other laptops, 2 Xbox, and 2 ipod touch systems running at one time or another throughout the day and have never had an issue. Activate wifi on the EVO and boom, we have to reset the router.

    Ill give the wifi analyzer a shot. Maybe the conflict is with another device in the house.
     
  6. bfm

    bfm Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you have a wireless n/g router and it is not dual band, then you could be connecting via N on your phone, and that disables the g band? try setting the router or the phone to only use G?
     
  7. Mr. Ed

    Mr. Ed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    6,675
    Likes Received:
    1,464
    go into your router settings and make sure there are no time outs

    it happened to me once...a setting somewhere in there was "time out" setting

    other than that I have no suggestions. I too suffer from the occasional cable dropping issue with time warner. logging in to the router shows it is still up and running, but no connection is making it from the modem to the router.

    I've also suggested before to people in this situation to check assigned ip addresses. there may be an ip conflict when adding the evo into the mix
     
  8. xploded

    xploded New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Any update to this? I have the EXACT same problem. I'd like to hear from the original poster as to what fixed the issue.
     
  9. Evo

    Evo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    53
    I wonder if this part of my issue. Not specific to my Evo, but to my wireless router in general. At home I connect no problem, but when I go to work we have an airport and every time I connect in Vista it always says identifying but won't fully connect until I make it "automatically get new ip address".

    Sorry if this is no help to your issue but just trying to see if there is any commonality whether it is an Evo problem, computer, or just the router.
     
  10. tom4250

    tom4250 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I to am having problems along the same line. My wireless router worked fine untill I added my HTC EVO 4G phone. After replaceing the router 3 times, power supply, POE and cables I finally figured out that if I disconnect my phone from the wireless everything works fine. I am using XSCALE WAR-4 board with CM9 radios on it. I am able to see the total time from boot up of the wireless router. I found the time was resetting every time. That is telling me the the router is restarting on it's own. I have 5 other wireless devices using this router daily with no problem but as soon as my HTC is connected the thing restarts at random times but usually within an hour. Again I take out the HTC from the wireless and everything will run fine indefinitly. I also have a Cyberguard (Snapgear) SG565 that I have tested the HTC with and things appear to be ok with that router when using the HTC. Any Thoughts?
     
  11. SchmoopEVO

    SchmoopEVO New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Lots of the same thing happening here. I have a number of wireless computers, a wireless Roku box and a wirelessly connected Wii. Wasn't until the Evos arrived that I've had the problem. Very, very tired of resetting my router and modem over and over again!
     
  12. themod1

    themod1 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am having the same issue with any 4g phone. I brought home the MyTouch 4g on loan until my LG G2X arrived. Whenever I would connect the phone, everything else would dissconnect. I brought home my G2X and the same thing happened. Often times if fixes it just by rebooting the phone. Other times I have to reboot the router. I don't think this problem is just with the EVO. I'm starting to think it's with either any 4g phone or just ones with the new Andoid Software. But, with that said, I did not have this problem with my MyTouch 3g. Has anyone solved this issue yet?
     
  13. sikclown

    sikclown Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,910
    Likes Received:
    965
    Ok at home are you using a Static IP address in you Evo... meaning you actually manually type in the IP or is it getting one automatically from your Router? If you have to go in a change it to "Automatically get New IP Address" then I am guessing you are assigning it one at home manually. The reason you can't connect to the Airport fully is most probably that it is on a different IP Address range i.e 192.168.1.XXX vs 192.168.2.XXX or has a different Subnet or Gateway.
     
  14. sikclown

    sikclown Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,910
    Likes Received:
    965
    Am I the only one that gets suspicious when people are making their first posts on something like this? If your router or modem is crashing or resetting when you add a device it is your router or your modem that is the problem. It is possible y'all don't have enough DHCP leases running and when you add the Evo it tries to take an IP Address when one isn't available and everything hangs up. Go in to your router's settings and Assign IP Addresses to all of your devices so that they get the same one everytime they connect. Also go to the Support Page for your Router on the Manufacturer's website and check for similar problems and firmware upgrades. Your Evo is not the problem. Download WiFi Analyzer from the Market (it is Free) and check your Channels. If your router is set to Auto Select a Channel actually disable that and put it on the best Channel according to WiFi Analyzer. If you don't know how to set the channel, again go to Linksys, Netgear, etc website and they should have a step by step.
     
    IMnobody likes this.
  15. BigMamma

    BigMamma Banned

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    16
    clap clap clap
     
  16. Blaze312

    Blaze312 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0

    Actually I disagree with this line of thinking. If everything works fine, all of a sudden you bring home a new device, and the router goes haywire. I agree, it could be a problem in the router firmware, but you are just totally throwing out the idea that the phone could be the root of the cause.

    I have a trednet router and this also happens to me with my EVO. I agree with previous posters that this is directly related to using the EVO wifi. Randomly after a certain amount of time, it will lock up the router. Sometimes turning wifi off on the EVO fixes it, other times I have to unplug the router to reset it.

    Typically when you have a DHCP conflict it will not crash all internet capabilities on the entire router, but instead only the devices with the conflict would have the issue. Also the fact that all the devices work fine at first, but eventually the EVO wifi will crash the router tells you that its not a DHCP issue. Unless the phone for some reason keeps asking for a new IP address at random. And if that's the case why doesn't it ever start working again at random without having to reset the device or phone.

    I am looking for a solution to this problem. So far I have yet to find a post where someone can tell me exactly what is happening here. I have no problem with people adding their input, but what i'm looking for is someone who can give technical details as to what exactly causes the problem.

    Hopefully in the next few days I have time to run a test that should point us in the right direction anyways. I will be turning off all my devices except for my EVO. If the wifi stops working on the EVO and causes a crash while no other devices are connected, it must be a problem with the EVO or the way the EVO is communicating with the router. Even if its a problem with the router, the EVO is clearly doing something to the router that no other devices are that causes it to lock up.

    Details
    HTC Evo Running Android 2.2
    Trednet TEW-633GR
     
  17. Blaze312

    Blaze312 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    @sikclown

    not trying to say your input wasn't helpful... because it was...

    i am really just looking for a technical answer to why this happens more then anything.
     
  18. sikclown

    sikclown Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,910
    Likes Received:
    965
    Don't worry, your reply didn't come off wrong. My thoughts on the matter come from my experience with work. I spend all day setting up devices on customers networks, probably have set up well over 10000 different devices over the years and not one router crash has turned out to be caused by a device. It is just a radio connecting to a source. Bear in mind I am not saying it is impossible that the Evo is the problem but it is usually the number of devices the router is having a problem with. Try these two things: change your router channel to 6 and your security to WPA AES. If you do a broader Internet search on devices crashing routers you will find a lot more answers and see that in the majority of instances it is the router or the modem that has the issue.
     
  19. Captain Hilts

    Captain Hilts New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Did anyone ever solve this problem? I'm having the exact same problem since bringing home a Nexus S.

    I've got a Trendnet TEW 633GR connected to a cable modem, along with a few other computers and another cell phone connected to the network. Since the Nexus S has been in the mix, all computers have been losing access to the internet (while maintaining a connection to the network) from time to time. Very frustrating!
     
  20. daknis

    daknis New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    My Sony Ericsson Xperia Active also came up with this. I solved this by upgrading router firmware. For Linksys WRT54G latest firmware is here:
    t. co/Xd1hID8X (correct the url, i can't post it directly)

    It's recommended to do it trough the wire.

    Actually, the problem wasn't anything to do with DHCP. Router was just resetting (physically turning off/on) when phone was connected.
     
  21. Captain Hilts

    Captain Hilts New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    That actually sounds like a different problem. In my case it connects fine but after a while the whole network crashes.

    I have been able to work around it by setting my router to wireles g only. I have found others with the same problem - the phone keeps switching between n and g and eventuall crashes the router as a result. I have also found the same problem with my Nokia X7, which I think uses the same broadcom wireless chip. I don't know how they managed to let so many of these crappy chips get into so many smartphones.

    So bottom line, many of these phones have problems with wireless n, so try disabling that if you have problems.
     
    ejklapperichjr likes this.
  22. JoshinOKC

    JoshinOKC New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have had the same problem with my D-Link DIR-632 router. When I connect my HTC EVO to the network, all connected devices lose internet. Very frustrating. I have spent hours on the phone with D Link, with no solution. There is no firmware update for this router and they are not interested in fixing it.

    I'm not saying it is not a router problem, but it is still caused by the EVO connecting to it. I have just replaced my router with an ASUS RT-N56U and have not experienced any problems yet.
     
  23. smitty543

    smitty543 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    639
    Likes Received:
    97
    No problems (so far) with Linksys E2500.
     
  24. ejklapperichjr

    ejklapperichjr New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    My new Bionic kept shutting down my wireless network. My router was set to B+G+N. Switched it to only G, and my phone connected with no issues right after that.
     
  25. rnand

    rnand New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had similar problems with my sony eric pro. Upgrading firmware of my linksys wireless router helped. Tx
     

Share This Page

Loading...