Wifi connection problemSupport


Last Updated:

  1. mvcuk1

    mvcuk1 New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a factory unlocked HTC Desire with the official 2.2 froyo firmware installed. When I turn on the wifi using the inbuilt HTC wifi widget, it takes about 10-15 seconds before the phone connects to my wifi router and the wifi icon is shown in the notification bar.

    I am using a Dlink dir-655 router. The settings that I have on the router are as follows:-

    wireless mode: 802.11g only
    encryption: wpa2 personal AES
    mac filtering on (phone's mac address has been added to the list)
    SSID is hidden

    Other devices such as my laptop and nintendo wii connect to the wifi router within seconds.

    Any help or thoughts would be appreciated.
     

    Advertisement
  2. charlies99

    charlies99 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    10
    mine is same....jst be patient :D
     
  3. w.maddler

    w.maddler Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    3
    Assign it a static IP, this could make connection faster.
     
  4. Bonce34

    Bonce34 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    12
    I agree with w.maddler - I also use a D-Link DIR-655 and I've assigned my phone a static IP address. I get a connection within seconds.
     
  5. nacatomi

    nacatomi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    82
    Yes this will help, the delay will be while it is negotiating with the DHCP server in your router for a dynamic IP a static removes the need for this so it will only need to authenticate. This may cause problems when connecting to networks other than your home network though as there may be IP conflicts on the network or they may use a different address space.

    I do wonder how its a problem though is 10 seconds that precious? :p
     
  6. nx1977

    nx1977 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,419
    Likes Received:
    172
    Or just leave WiFi on and set up sleep policy ;)
     
  7. Bonce34

    Bonce34 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    12
    No, the static IP is assigned by the router to the phone's MAC address, you do not have to tell the phone to use a particular IP. Therefore you will not have any problems connecting to other networks (DHCP will be used as normal).
     
  8. nacatomi

    nacatomi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    82
    Yes but that method is still using DHCP to acquire its IP whether or not it gets the same IP is up to your router its called IP reservation or Static Allocation (Not the same as setting a Static IP). Setting a static IP has to be done on the clients device so that it doesn't ask the DHCP server to provide settings. Therefore if the phone is set up for example with static details of

    IP 192.168.1.30
    Subnet 255.255.255.0
    Gateway of 192.168.1.1

    As some networks are set up then he would not be able to join a network that is based on a 192.168.0.x address range and if by chance the other network the 192.169.1.x space then he could still run into problems if another device is take .30.

    Thats why its best if you are going to be connecting to multiple wifi networks then you need to leave it as DHCP as thats one of the reasons it was invented, to ease setup and stop conflicts.
     
  9. Griff_LI

    Griff_LI Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    371
    Likes Received:
    52
    You can assign a static IP address on your phone AND change the DHCP settings on your router to not assign that address e.g. give your phone 192.168.0.253 and have DHCP only allocate from 2 up to 252 (or 128, how many devices do you have connected at once ?). Check the DHCP set-up on your router (if you know how to do that).

    Sad thing is, though, that the IP set-up on the phone seems to be for ALL Wifi networks - it'd be nice to set the static settings for your home only (and any others where you're allocated a static IP) and DHCP for any others.
     
  10. nacatomi

    nacatomi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    82
    Are you replying to me there?
    If so you've misunderstood my point. I was trying to say that if you give your phone a static IP then at some point its going to cause problems when connecting to networks not owned\managed by you, I can easily see a basic public wifi having a large range of IP's used and if one of then happens to be your static your not getting on. Also the same if they use a different subnet (the first 3 parts of the IP - e.g. 192.168.0)
     
  11. Griff_LI

    Griff_LI Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    371
    Likes Received:
    52
    It was sort-of a reply to you. As you say, you can't use a static IP on a network you don't manage. BUT my point was it would be nice to have the option to set-up the IP settings on each Wifi connection to avoid precisely what you're describing.
     
  12. nacatomi

    nacatomi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    82
    That would be a nice option yeah. Something like the alternate configuration in windows would be nice. Who knows someones probably already written a wifi profile app that allows quick switching.

    EDIT: And it looks like there is it would seem "Wifi Static" does exactly that. You can set a profile per network and it will fall back to DHCP if its an unknown its free so might be worth a try.

    However I'm fine with DHCP and the few extra seconds it takes to connect for an easier life :D was just trying to help the OP avoid problems later and think it was the phone playing up.
     
  13. mvcuk1

    mvcuk1 New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks to all for the quick replies. I suppose I am just used to connecting to my wifi router almost instantly on my laptop and in today's 24/7 world, 10-15 seconds feels like a long time. I guess that I need to be more patient.
     

Share This Page

Loading...