WiFi Hotpsot - cannot connect HTC Desire/IPOD TouchSupport


Last Updated:

  1. simonr101

    simonr101 New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have just updated my HTC Desire phone to Froyo 2.2 but am having probs with wifi hotspot. I am trying to connect to it with my ipod touch and it detects the wifi signal and lets me connect but when I try going online with the ipod touch I have no luck has anyone managed this successfully? Thanks in advance.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Vicdude

    Vicdude Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    316
    Likes Received:
    19
    Don't be daft, it's an Apple product. The only way it would work is with another i product :D.
    Doesn't Steve Jobs have a line of wireless "bolt ons" that you can buy in order to make it work with other non Apple products? :D
     
  3. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    Ive managed to connect my laptop via the desire with no problems. Its a proper one though, not a mac.
     
  4. Vicdude

    Vicdude Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    316
    Likes Received:
    19
    LOL @ a "proper one" :D :D:D
     
  5. itgoodson

    itgoodson Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm having a similar problem. I have updated to 2.2 on my Desire, Macbook connects to the "HTC Network" but no internet connection!

    Any advice?

    Cheers
     
  6. itgoodson

    itgoodson Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Anyone got any ideas where i can get a definitive answer?
     
  7. Saint_Viper

    Saint_Viper Active Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    13
    Same problem here, connects to the htc network, but cannot access internet etc.
     
  8. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    Out of interest are you all using apple products?
     
  9. SirPsycho

    SirPsycho Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the same problem too - both with my iPod Touch and with my wife's Sony netbook. Neither seem to pull data through at all...

    Called HTC who think my ROM needs reflashing - but I'm noticing a lot of people are having this problem, so surely there must be another fix?! Not keen to be without my phone while they do it, so now trying to find out if there's a way to reflash it myself...
     
  10. SirPsycho

    SirPsycho Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Are we all on Orange, BTW?
     
  11. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
  12. SirPsycho

    SirPsycho Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Lol yeah - cos if an Orange Froyo user tells me theirs is working, I'll continue pursuing this with HTC. If it turns out we're all on Orange, I'll drop a Tweet to their PR guy and their Orange Helpers team to get an update moving...
     
  13. Saint_Viper

    Saint_Viper Active Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    13
    Vodafone using Modaco rom.
     
  14. blakey

    blakey Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    Same here for me on orange. And to save anyone else the bother the factory reset doesn't resolve the issue.
     
  15. SirPsycho

    SirPsycho Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Would be useful to get itgoodson and simonr101's input into this - I already know of a couple of other Orange users inflicted by the same thing - be good to know what network they're on...
     
  16. Saint_Viper

    Saint_Viper Active Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    13
    I downloaded Wireless Tether and use that instead, so far seem to be working with no problems.
     
  17. SirPsycho

    SirPsycho Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Requires root access though, doesn't it?
     
  18. Saint_Viper

    Saint_Viper Active Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    13
    Ahhh very true, sorry.
     
  19. Jason71

    Jason71 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    24
    I am an orange uk user with a sim free unbranded desire.
    I regularly connect my lenovo laptop via hotspot to get my emails during meetings. works fine. I have also connected it to a friends Iphone 3gs seemed to work fine with that as well
     
  20. thewhizzz

    thewhizzz Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    So what settings are you useing?
     
  21. itgoodson

    itgoodson Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry for the delay in replying. Good to see there is some activity on the forum about this.

    I'm running desire, branded Orange, 2.2, and trying to connect with a macbook

    cheers
     
  22. deeplyconfused

    deeplyconfused Active Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Me too with the same problem with an Orange Desire 2.2 connecting to a Macbook.
     
  23. aragon12

    aragon12 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Same problem here. Have an orange htc desire, the wifi hotspot will connect but not transfer data to iphone 4, iPad, Macbook running windows 7 or an Acer laptop running Vista.

    Has orange disabled hotspot sharing of a 3G data? Has anyone got an orange branded desire running 2.2 with working hotspot funactionality?
     
  24. stevearley

    stevearley New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I also have this problem. Orange branded Desire with 2.2 update. Hotspot created fine and can connect devices to it but then those devices are unable to actually use the connection. Have tried connecting iPhone 3GS, Macbook Pro, a Windows 7 laptop and another Desire - all no good. A friend on TMobile created hotspot on his Desire, I was able to connect from my handset and browse the web so this looks like an Orange-specific issue. Odd though as Orange don't mention any restrictions on their website (when I last looked) and I can't see how they could justify any restrictions.
     
  25. peaky

    peaky New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Same problem, with Orange , used windows 7 and ipad, nothing!! Probably what cause the delay blocking that off!!
     

Share This Page

Loading...