Wifi Hotspot for up to 8 devices!


Last Updated:

  1. ICU812

    ICU812 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    This will be my only phone. Goodbye Blackberry Tour. With this I can also cancel my data card which will save me $49.99 per month. Ahh....thank you Sprint!

    YouTube - HTC EVO 4G from Sprint
     

    Advertisement
  2. pequeajim

    pequeajim Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    82
  3. jmxp69

    jmxp69 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    121
    This ticket is, they're finally starting to "get it." Wireless providers need to enable access to information the way the *consumer* wants it, not the way *they* want it.

    I pay over $200 a month for my plan (5 phones). That is a A LOT of cake. I should be empowered to access information how I chose at that rate. We're not talking a $5 uptick for WAP here.

    BTW: MS suffers from the same legacy way of thinking which is why they will die at the hands of Android. It will be a short putt for this OS to move from your phone to your desktop...it's already being done. Google will destroy MS, RIM, and maybe even Apple because they are focused on *what the consumer wants*.
     
    passivesf likes this.
  4. twospirits

    twospirits AF's janitor Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6,182
    Likes Received:
    5,028
    Speaking of the EVO's ability to be a hotspot for 8 devices, it will leave me with no need for my current 3g/4g U301 modem. In fact I don't have a need for it now, being that the next time I travel out to a 4G city won't be until after the June/July deployment. Plus I also finally got my Hero teetering.
    So what options do I have with the 3g/4g modem.

    1-Return it and close that account (possibly resulting in a ETF).
    2-Sell it on ebay (hate doing that), and use the line for the EVO.
    3-Other option I am not aware of.

    Ready, set, give your opinions...

    TS out
     
  5. jb4kats

    jb4kats Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    13
    I have tethered my Hero and it isn't rooted. I was going to root but pdanet for android worked good for me but I don't tether much anyway.
     
  6. mi_canuck

    mi_canuck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,064
    Likes Received:
    15
    I installed the Desire ROM onto my Nexus today... and one of the custom additions (used the MoDaCo kichen to cook up my tailored ROM) is a WiFi Tethered app/widget... it allows me to tether my laptop to my Nexus via WiFi... so it must be similar to what will be on the EVO 4G... I don't know if I could support 8 devices... I'll have to try it... but basically, my Nexus, with the modded Desire ROM, is a WiFi hotspot TODAY! :D
     
  7. ICU812

    ICU812 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Option #2 is exactly what I have decided on. I'll keep the BB on the original line for work, sell the Connection card and put the EVO on that line.

    Win win situation.

    Sprint = AWESOME
     
  8. earldriscoll

    earldriscoll Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    59
    Hmmmm. Let me see if I got this right..... I can add a line of service, get a EVO 4G for an additional 19.99 per month, stop paying Comcast 50.00 per month for cable and use the EVO 4G to connect both my laptops to the EVO 4G?
     
  9. dylan88

    dylan88 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    196
    technically, yes i think
     
  10. treefq

    treefq Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    3
    True, but your stuck at 3G. You also had to Burn a custom ROM. This phone will be a 4G hotspot out of the box.

    I will still root the EVO though. I have no desire/need for NFL, Stocks or any social networking beyond my phone list.
     
  11. neodorian

    neodorian Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,113
    Likes Received:
    276
    I used to do this with my WM phones but they need to stay on the charger and near your computer. Not only that but they get awfully warm. I don't know that I would want to tie my phone up as the house's modem but it is great when you are on the road. If you have Wimax in your area, call up Clear (same people) and check into getting it at home. Last I checked it is maybe $25-35 per month for Wimax to the home. I use it now but I don't know if the prices have changed since I signed up under the old Xohm branding.

    NFL won't be back if I understand correctly. I believe that Verizon bought the rights to that. Still, I agree that it should have always been an opt-in exclusive since some want it and some don't.
     
  12. mrmojoz

    mrmojoz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    63
    To be fair Apple is also focused on *what the consumer wants*, they just tell the consumer beforehand what that is.
     
  13. TECHMAN

    TECHMAN Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    34

    This is really a great feature.

    May I ask you or anyone what kind of speeds your getting?
     
  14. mi_canuck

    mi_canuck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,064
    Likes Received:
    15
    3G speeds
     
  15. MauiDude

    MauiDude Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    11
    Hi! Can you guys answer a question for me? When you're hosting up to 8 devices and a voice call comes in, what happens? Will it pause the 4G till you hang up? Is there a way to ignore calls when you're hosting? What if it jumps between 3G and 4G? I live in a kinda weak area. I don't know how strong the 4G is around here though. I guess I'll have to get a EVO to find out.
     
  16. mi_canuck

    mi_canuck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,064
    Likes Received:
    15
    yes
     
  17. twospirits

    twospirits AF's janitor Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6,182
    Likes Received:
    5,028
    lol I just love the short answer. By yes he means yes it will pause from what I've been reading.

    TS
     
  18. jmxp69

    jmxp69 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    121
    LOL! That's funny. I do use a MBP for my home PC, so I will agree 100% with you.
     
  19. TheNorthernForest

    TheNorthernForest Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    414
    Likes Received:
    37
    Yes, and this is in a bad way. Android wouldn't lock users out from doing what they want or try to make jailbreaking illegal....wait, you don't have to do that with your Android.

    STOCK ANDROID FTW
     
  20. Outrigger

    Outrigger Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    55
    Technically you can, but you need to think about it. currently even for unlimited plans, there is a 5GB cap per month and your pc can consume far more data than your phone ever can. I can use up the 5GB in one day just by downloading a couple of movies. No one knows if there is a cap on 4G just yet but even if there isn't, it can never beat my Fios set up.
    But what if you want to surf the net and call someone at the same time? right now, even on 4G you can't although they're trying to make that work.
     
  21. Oridus

    Oridus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    510
    Likes Received:
    143
    I'm on board with this comment.

    It'll be great for providing my friends with WiFI for their iPods and laptops and iPads and slates and such... however I would never use it as a main internet connection. It'd never be that reliable, and not to mention, i'm a gamer. Wireless gaming over a cell phone's internet connection... ehhhh probably not a good idea for me.
     
  22. gabbott

    gabbott Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    604
    Likes Received:
    101
    If you plan to use the hotspot on the EVO to replace your home broadband internet just be careful as I'm sure that'll be restricted to a 5gig cap on 3g for tethered devices.
     
  23. ImGreen

    ImGreen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    39
    I pay about $50/mo for 15Mbit-down/1.5Mbit-up speeds and I plan on getting the HTC EVO 4G, but I will not give up my cable connection. I live on the outskirts of of Dallas, TX and I just need a reliable connection to the internet for work (with VPN support) and for the rest of the family (1 PC + 2 laptops.) I use SuddenLink and they do not require a contract, so I can quit any time, but still 4G won't be quite as good as cable in the near term... maybe a couple years from now it will...

    If you do not need the speed of your cable connection and reliability is not a big issue then go for it... but if you can try 4G and see if you can do all the things you want reliably (like video streaming) first before you cancel your cable.

    My 2-cents.
    :D

    Note: I did not mean to imply that that 4G would not support VPN, I don not know that it will or will not... I do know that 3G does support Cisco VPN now.
     
  24. GoldenStatePanda

    GoldenStatePanda Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    12
    does anyone know the range of the hotspot feature? in the overdrive commercial the family is in the same living room but will it work thru walls or up or down a floor? i havent heard any mention of it which is odd considering its one of the evo's biggest features.
     
  25. sitlet

    sitlet Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    5,867
    Likes Received:
    633
    I've heard anywhere from 20 feet to 100 feet. But I'm guessing to get a decent signal out of it, you will have to be within 20 feet.
     

Share This Page

Loading...