Wifi in Galaxy SSupport


Last Updated:

  1. oliverm

    oliverm Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi

    I have to say that Android is giving me the worst experience of any phone I've had. I'm using a Samsung Galaxy S with 2.1 and, while the hardware is excellent (nice camera btw), the software is just so bad.

    My current issue is that wifi isn't being used unless my 3g connection completely disappears. Not 0 bars, but the red no-entry sign that appears when the phone just cant find the provider. Only then will it use wifi. I've tried new wifi APs, changing the channels, changing the AP mode (B/G/N etc), changing encryption types (AES etc). Nothing makes a difference.

    I wouldn't mind too much but reception here is terrible so apps stop uploading, things slow down.

    Any ideas why this might be? I can't imagine it's meant to happen.
     

    Advertisement
  2. stockfeed

    stockfeed Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    2
    no, it shouldnt do that, the only thing i can think of is to go into wi fi settings -> menubutton -> advanced -> wi fi sleep policy and check what its set to.
     
  3. oliverm

    oliverm Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    It was set to stop the wifi when the screen goes blank. I've set it to never stop the wifi. It will kill the battery but lets hope it solves the issue.
     
  4. NZtechfreak

    NZtechfreak Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,825
    Likes Received:
    763
    Actually it tends to spare the battery, since the phone isn't constantly searching for network signal. My last few phones (Galaxy S, Desire, HD2) have all been better for battery life on constant WiFi.
     
  5. Beards

    Beards Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,028
    Likes Received:
    371
    That's strange as I find it works the opposite way.

    I tried it last night and noticed the battery at 94%
    This morning only 6hrs later I switched it on and it read 75%

    Previous nightly consumption is much less when set to stop the wifi.
     
  6. Beards

    Beards Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,028
    Likes Received:
    371
    Last night I put it back to stopping the wifi when the screen goes blank.
    Before switching off, like the previous night I first killed off all running programs and checked the screen... it showed 72%.
    5hrs later I woke up, clicked the Home button to turn on the screen and checked the battery once more.. It read 70%.

    So only 2% in 5hrs laying idle is good enough for me.

    I'm happy to try the test again if you wish. :)
     
  7. informale

    informale Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    704
    Likes Received:
    33
    My Galaxy i7500 is better off using WiFi when all day at home, than 3G. WiFi saves battery!)
     
  8. Noose475

    Noose475 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    oliverm,
    my wife has the same phone. she just got it late last week. she's having the same issues. i'm in south korea. believe it or not,,,i'm sitting here in samsung's tech center waiting with my wife. i'll keep you updated as to the problem of this wifi issue as soon as i get some answers.
     
  9. Noose475

    Noose475 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just talked to the tech. They don't know. Its to early since the phone was just released. We have to wait 2weeks to see if there is similar issues here in korea. Wife an i are going back to sketch to see if we swap it for another galaxy s.
     
  10. galaxysser

    galaxysser Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    1
    I am hijacking this thread...got the galaxy s yesterday, had it connected to the wifi at home with no issues, but today when I tried connecting, it couldn't detect the ssid. I hide my ssid, so thinking that as the problem, I unhid it and voila! it works again...is this the norm? Galaxy S can't detect hidden SSIDs?
     
  11. rodh257

    rodh257 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    my wi fi is no good. Just constantly droppign in and out for me :( even with sleep off.

    I've downloaded wifi fixer app and it puts notifications in whenever a problem is detected, there is heaps.. I think this may be why my battery sucks.
     
  12. oliverm

    oliverm Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks Noose. Interesting to know that I'm not alone. Keep me informd with anything you hear.

    I've also found that it refuses to show the wifi icon sometimes when moving between previously connected wifi networks. The wifi networks just dont appear in the list. Stop and start the wifi feature in the Galaxy S and the wifi networks appear again.

    Wifi reception is also really poor. The phone will show 1 or 2 bars perhaps for any wifi network when another iphone or laptop next to it will show a full set of bars.
     
  13. MRSizzle

    MRSizzle New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    All - there is a problem with the GT-i9000 WiFi.

    It will disconnect itself after a duration of anything from 1 to 60 mins from my experience.

    Its noticed when your surfing web pages, as it will suddenly stop being available and the "web page not available" message will appear. Or perhaps your streaming internet radio or using the Media server, basicly any WiFi based comms will simply stop working as the phone turns off the WiFi chip but does not update the phone software it has done so.

    Appears to be the more apps that use it simultaneously the quicker it dies. And I am using the BT home hub 2 also, but this issue happens on other access points so im not sure if it is related. But this in no way should be a problem, just means if it is related, Samsung stand a better change of find the problem.

    this issue is wide spread - reported on lots of forums.

    looks like it affects all Samsung gt-i9000 units.

    It appears to be a driver issue with the Samsung base OS drivers in the phone. Possibly sleep policy is not operating correctly and the wifi radio is being disabled by the hardware and is not being controlled correctly by the software so the WiFI icon still appeers to indicate the phone is connected. Also the wifi signal is not being correctly reported. the signal appears to be attenuated more than it really is.

    This must be reported now as top priority. The WiFoi drivers need fixing, WiFi on this phone appears to be causing all kinds of issues.

    Also if this hits the press, Samsung will experience a huge PR issue on the same scale as the Iphone 4 aerial joke issue, so Samsung rep who is monitoring these threads get yourself a pay rise and bring this to the attention of the Samsung development manager ASAP.


    Please Samsung fix your WiFi drivers ASAP !!!

    http://forumuk.samsungmobile.com/PostsList.aspx?ThreadID=207294

    http://forumuk.samsungmobile.com/PostsList.aspx?ThreadID=207308

    http://forumuk.samsungmobile.com/PostsList.aspx?ForumPostID=206677

    http://gorumors.com/google-nexus-one-wi-fi-connectivity-issue/2753460

    http://forum.vodafone.co.uk/topic/66822-galaxy-s-wi-fi-issue/

    loads of others on google search
     
  14. 8steve8

    8steve8 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
  15. GuitsBoy

    GuitsBoy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    2
    Im also having terrible issues with my captivate galaxy s. Seems to be an issue while connecting to my cisco WAP4410N at work, specifically. The wifis run all day long on my old dlink router.

    Im noting some very strange issues, here are the facts:
    I get the page cannot be displayed error in the browser.
    I can access public sites through their IP address.
    I can ping any public IP address.
    I can ping any private IP address on the same subnet as the access point (10.10.2.x).
    I cannot ping private IPs on a different subnet (10.10.3.x)
    DNS resides on a different IP subnet, which is why I cannot browse.
    The router (juniper ssg20) has no record of any sessions to a private IP address on another subnet, however it will show all sessions from the phone to public IPs.

    I wonder if android is not honoring the subnet mask, and is attempting to broadcast to any and all private IPs? The settings look fine to me in the DHCP server. Also, it works fine for all laptops and my buddys droid.

    And now to really play with your mind, when i manually enter the settings, it works fine. Sadly this is a problem when I go home and am on a different private network.

    Just wanted to add my findings to this thread. I hope they fix the issue quickly.
     
  16. tobiasm9

    tobiasm9 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wow i just fixed it if your static ip is set to on turn it off and it works like a charm i think that's the problem hope it helps worked for me :)
     
  17. bmm

    bmm New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    No problem with wifi but can somone answer me this. How does the phone choose between using wifi and the phone network if both are available? Obviously I want to use my cheaper (and faster) home wifi when available. - Thanks
     
  18. Beards

    Beards Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,028
    Likes Received:
    371
    By default if the phone picks up a wifi network and you have wifi on it will switch to this over 3G.
     
    bmm likes this.
  19. galaxygaz

    galaxygaz New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Galaxys WiFi problem with me also i9000 available to connect to two wifi points one is WEP and one is not it picks up the non wep all day long no faults
    however the main WEP wifi cannot connect even with the correct WEP code in
    Also looking for a quick fix please Mr Samsung rest of the phone is more than OK
     
  20. GuitsBoy

    GuitsBoy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    2
    I was able to verify my suspicions. When using dhcp, the network stack uses the default class a network mask for anything on a 10.x.x.x network, instead of using the dhcp supplied mask. I verified on two different access points at two different locations using net status. I hope they fix this...
     
    aaronwe and TCC like this.
  21. versp

    versp Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    2
    It's been working fine for me. I'm hoping this post doesn't kill it.
     
  22. TCC

    TCC Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hopefully you can bug report this on the samsung support website so they are aware of it. I haven't read anything about this problem anywhere else (but that doesn't mean much) I just want to make sure samsung knows so they can fix it.
     
  23. Zymeth

    Zymeth New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Though my wireless networks are turned on and can be detected by other systems, my Galaxy S is not detecting any of them!:mad:
    Any suggestions would be helpful..
     
  24. android2.0

    android2.0 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    i am having a huge problem with my wifi on galaxy s. earlier it used to work fine stay connected for long but all of a sudden it though recognises the connection but fails to connect to it even though after verifying the connection .it shows obtaining ip address then shows connection unsuccessful .dont know whether its due to applications i installed or due to some problem with my device please help instead of android 2.1 my device has become android 0.0 heeeelllllpppppp.
     
  25. Sjoske

    Sjoske New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    False alarm, that's what happens if your neighbor creates an exact copy of your "work" network!
     

Share This Page

Loading...