wifi issue... concerns me enough to return


Last Updated:

  1. aleicgrant

    aleicgrant Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok first off, new evo owner coming off years of iphone use.

    Love the phone so far but also frustrated.

    My issue is wifi. I have a dual band linksys, wrt610
    Iphone got full strength in any corner of 3000sf house
    Evo gets one bar maybe 2. In fact it will load this forum only with
    the logo and nothing else, will just continue to load. Have to use 3G for
    It to work right.

    With battery life a challenge for this phone and now what seems like a very weak wifi radio
    I may be forced to return it :-(
     

    Advertisement
  2. lyons238

    lyons238 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    19
    just get a new one its probably an isolated problems. i get similar wifi reception as my itouch.
     
  3. RoboMonkey

    RoboMonkey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,194
    Likes Received:
    114
    you guys sound like the same people who post when they are leaving a MMO.

    Just go don't post about it.
     
    marctronixx likes this.
  4. lyons238

    lyons238 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    19
    my wow account got scammed, theres no way i can get all my itams back. i guess this is good bye :(. (even though myself and everyone knows ill be back in a month)
     
  5. GaryColeman

    GaryColeman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    99
    Consider yourself lucky to get a weak signal. Could be worse, Jobs couldn't even get any wifi signal on his iphone 4 during his launch presentation this week.
     
    stevieo526, bvbull200, Fazz and 5 others like this.
  6. IPvFletch

    IPvFletch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    28
    Anyone figure out a way to extend the antenna?? You would think it's possible to coil up some wire under the battery, just gotta solder/affix to the right place (where?)...
     
  7. aleicgrant

    aleicgrant Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    well its defective. Now I gotta wait at least a week for a replacement :-(
     
  8. acp

    acp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    996
    Likes Received:
    71
    I was just reading about this problem on androidcentral. I do agree the wifi signal seems weak, I will compare it to my wifes Pre later tonight.
     
  9. aleicgrant

    aleicgrant Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    well reading the sticky on this issue (20 pages deep) on Android central it would seem im not alone
     
  10. Diesektor

    Diesektor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    6
    Lol
     
  11. coreyfuncrusher

    coreyfuncrusher Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    I get a pretty weak wifi signal in my place too compared to other devices. Is this a defect or just the wifi on the phone? wanna know if its worth trying to get a replacement.
     
  12. zpilot

    zpilot Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    11
    Wifi antenna on the phone suck
    Battery life suck
    Ear piece suck

    All 3 of those things are so crucial to a phone... Everyone is all stuck up on the other stuff (HD cam, 8mp cam, navigation) that they forget about the basics.
     
  13. beoti

    beoti Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    15
    I'm also having issues with a weak wifi signal. In the same location as a laptop, ipod touch, and iphone, I am getting an intermittent signal while all others function without pause.
     
  14. GaryColeman

    GaryColeman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    99
    Have you tried avoiding that website?
     
  15. edlex

    edlex Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Messages:
    796
    Likes Received:
    142
    You are the consumer. You are the one spending your hard earned money. You are in control. Do not accept a sub standard performing product on it's first run. Trust me, I still have my launch day pre and have heard the horror stories of the pre's first run. Some get lucky, some don't. Demand they give you a working device before your 30 days are up.
     
    Bagua, Fazz and marctronixx like this.
  16. acp

    acp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    996
    Likes Received:
    71
    my phone is still lightning fast
     
  17. mr.almeida

    mr.almeida Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    16
    I don't get a strong Wi-Fi signal, but my 10MB d/l speed I tested on my phone with Wi-Fi on shows otherwise.
     
  18. acp

    acp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    996
    Likes Received:
    71
    I have only one bar wifi signal, I'm getting 3.7mb down and 3.1mb up
     
  19. Turkey

    Turkey Active Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    3
    I also only have one bar and pages load instantly. One bar and androidforums and ESPN both load way faster then ipad
    Today I was outside and pages were loading just as fast with no bars just the WiFi dot.
     
  20. IXIShogunR1

    IXIShogunR1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    28

    same here 9-13Mbps and i normally only have 1 bar lite up
    crappy anntena probably but it seems to still work pretty good
     
  21. apollooff320

    apollooff320 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    28
    I compared my EVO to my Hero and got pretty much the same results everywhere I went. I even went outside 15ft away from my house and both were still the same with my Hero moving from nothing to 1 bar while my Evo was at no bars constantly. I tested out my net connection on the EVO and was able to pull 1.26Mbps. Will test against my girl's Pre tomorrow because I was getting bit my mosquitoes while testing. I think ppl shouldn't really worry what it's showing because it still works and is faster or equal to the 3G connection. I get 1.75Mbps with 3G.
     
  22. Rob_A

    Rob_A Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    831
    Likes Received:
    216
    I have a router from Fios. Full bar most of the time, (2 when I'm in the bathroom) 10-15Mps down... nice
     
  23. S.meezy

    S.meezy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    31
    It is showing 0 bars on WiFi for me right now, but its chugging along enough to view and post here without noticeable delay...~30 feet from router through 3 walls.
     
  24. SeauxCrazy

    SeauxCrazy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    62
    I still have my old iPhone, haven't sold it yet and did a test. iPhone had full bars, Evo wasn't even close in bars. Evo loaded full pages almost 3 times as fast as the iPhone.

    Just b/c the bars show small signal, doesn't mean it isn't working. I still believe it's a faulty wifi symbol thingie, not the actual wifi.
     
  25. momoceio

    momoceio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,235
    Likes Received:
    149
    Sounds like a software bug...are there any 3rd party WiFi monitors?
     

Share This Page

Loading...