Wifi Issues with school AP's - connects but no internetSupport

1. sona1111

sona1111 New Member

Hello people of android forums! A small bit about myself: I am a programmer and heavy user of linux, both server and client versions. I consider myself very tech savvy with desktops and servers, but I am just now getting used to smartphones. I had been holding out a very long time to buy a phone for myself but people had been bugging me a lot lately so I finally broke down and got my first smartphone, the Nexus 5. It is unlocked with no sim card, which should not be a problem for me because I am only ever at home or school anyway. :)

Anyway, I was having awesome fun setting up the phone at my home wifi, as well as at a friends house. Next I went to school and registered my MAC (they use mac filtering), and it was operational shortly after. Worked fine throughout that day. The next day It still connected correctly, but no data could be had from the internet. (chrome, email, any app, whatever) Network manager claimed that I had full bars. (of wifi) The school network staff claim it is a "known issue with androids", it "never happens with laptops, iphones, or any other type of device". Sadly, I can confirm this after talking to many people, and I also never had any issues connecting my ubuntu thinkpad or asus windows laptop. The network staff also suggested trying "wifi fixer", which I have (both of the top two apps which show up for this search in the play store). No success.