WiFi IssuesSupport


Last Updated:

  1. Dave17

    Dave17 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hello - been lurking since I bought my Droid and have learned a lot from the forums. I have an issue that I haven't seen discussed anywhere, but if someone's aware of a thread, I'd appreciate a pointer to it.

    My Droid connects to my wireless network just fine (Apple Airport Extreme N extended) and for a time, I will have no problems. Then, and I can't figure out a specific behavior, my entire network will go down. I have to reboot my router to get things up and running again. This even affects things that are hard-wired to the router not just wireless clients. I thought that the AP was assigning the same IP to two clients, but the logs say no.

    I know that it could be coincidence, but I have had zero problems before connecting my Droid to the network, and have zero problems when I leave WiFi off on my Droid for days at a time. Best guess: something having to do with the WiFi connection when the Droid goes to sleep. As bizarre as it seems, I really do think that it's something to do with the phone.

    Any ideas?

    Thanks in advance,
    Dave

    *** UPDATE ***
    Turning on network robustness appears to have solved the problem. Network hasn't dropped yet. I will continue to monitor it and will repost if I have anything new. Thanks to Barbara and Aaron for their prompt replies.
     

    Advertisement
  2. aaron19953

    aaron19953 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    11
    Oh, that's a simple one ...

    Your Apple Airport doesn't know what to do with such an awesome device on the network !!.. hehehe

    Seriously though, that's and interesting problem.. I've had similar issues with a laptop using IPv6, but it only effected the wireless clients.

    The only suggestion i have is to see if there are any firmware updates for your airport, in general i also check firmware stuff first..


    -=< aaron >=-
     
  3. Barbara

    Barbara Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    840
    Likes Received:
    31
    Some wireless devices use the same frequency as the router. I have problems with my work AP when certain wireless devices are used around it (sometimes). I have to reboot the router to get the connection to the internet back.
     
  4. bdal1

    bdal1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    9
    I'm having. The exact issue. Every time the phone goes to sleep it can't find wifi when it wakes up.
     
  5. Dave17

    Dave17 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    1
    :D

    Thanks Aaron -- Unfortunately, the most current firmware for the router breaks my Windows PCs' abilities to see the Airport Disk Drive. I'm slowly retiring my Windows boxes, but until they're all gone, I have to stick with the older firmware.

    Dave
     
  6. Dave17

    Dave17 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks Barbara -- that's a really interesting thought; I hadn't considered the possibility of interference. I will switch the radios on the router and see if that makes a difference.

    Cheers,
    Dave
     
  7. Dave17

    Dave17 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    1
    bdal1, please do me a solid and see if rebooting your router re-establishes connectivity (without changing the WiFi status of your Droid).

    Thanks!
    Dave
     
  8. bdal1

    bdal1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    9
    OK next time it happens
     
  9. bdal1

    bdal1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    9
    Router reset does work. (As well as turn wiring on/off)
     
  10. Dave17

    Dave17 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks bdal1 -- I've updated my original post for my apparent fix. If you're using an router with such a setting, turn on network robustness and see if that solves your problems.

    Good luck,
    Dave
     
  11. hifialan

    hifialan New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the same problem, too. I turn on wifi on droid, and things work for a minute or so, and then my entire network goes down for the whole house. I have to reboot my cable modem and then the airport. If i then turn on the droid wifi, it all goes down again. I see you mention network robustness. where is this setting? on the aiport or on the droid? Thanks for the help.
     
  12. bremere

    bremere New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am experiencing the same wifi router issues. I however do not use airport, but Verizon FiOS...I have tried to change the channel, the SSID, wep key, even the router...still have the same issue...any other FiOS users out there with wifi issues??
     
  13. Dave17

    Dave17 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi hifialan, it's on the router. Try the following steps:


    1. Open Airport Utility,
    2. Select Manual Setup,
    3. Select Wireless 'tab',
    4. Select Wireless Options,
    5. Check the box next to "Use interference robustness",
    6. Select Done,
    7. Select Update.

    Good luck,
    Dave
     
  14. hifialan

    hifialan New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks, Dave. I have made the change to the router. I'll try it out tonight after work and let folks know if this fixed things.
     
  15. hifialan

    hifialan New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    That did it! Checking robustness on the airport extreme solved the problem. Thanks for the help.
     
  16. Dave17

    Dave17 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    1
    Glad to hear that this helped.

    Dave
     
  17. DirtyBrit

    DirtyBrit New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have no apparent problems with the phone and it's connecting to my wireless network but if I use the power control widget to stop the Droid's wifi it kills the wireless router including hard wired connections. I have to unplug, wait and restart the router and then everything is back to normal. The fix mentioned above sounds hopefull but I have a Linksys router and I do not see anything like a robustness setting as in the Airport extreme. Are there any Linksys experts out there with ideas on fixing this problem.
     

Share This Page

Loading...