WIFI problem connecting ADHOC


Last Updated:

  1. amstelerdam

    amstelerdam New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,

    I own a HTC Hero and loving the phone but unfortunately i am having problems connecting to my WIFI network.

    When i turn on the WIFI on my hero it will not show the SSID name of my network. The odd thing is that when i use WIFI scanner (nice program) it shows my WIFI network SSID, but i cannot connect to my WIFI using that program.

    Is this a problem that others are experiencing? is there a solution to this 'problem'?

    Thanks,

    Amstelerdam
     

    Advertisement
  2. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,386
    Likes Received:
    16,493
    Is the SSID hidden? The Hero can't/won't identify hidden SSIDs, it seems.
     
  3. amstelerdam

    amstelerdam New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    No it is not hidden. I can see the ssid from my notebook.
     
  4. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,386
    Likes Received:
    16,493
    Okay, next question: is your network using IEEE 802.11n? The Hero will only recognise 802.11b/g.
     
  5. amstelerdam

    amstelerdam New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    My notebook only has the N-type but the card in my computer supports B/G types

    i also tried to create an open network,one that does noet need authorisation .. but no luck

    i am sure it is some tiny setting that one has to configure in order to make it work, but i iam not finding it
     
  6. i.wifi.u

    i.wifi.u New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi, try out Bzeek, its a software that does just that, creating wifi from your laptop.
    its a short installation process and it gives you a very easy automatic way to create an internet connection or your WiFi devices.
     
    chocomonster likes this.
  7. chanandler

    chanandler New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm having the same trouble, created an adhoc network on my laptop and tried to connect the Hero to it but it won't see it or connect if I set up manually.

    The adhoc network is fine, my iPhone connects without any trouble to it and can get out onto the web.
     
  8. tbone

    tbone New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I can confirm this issue. I have set up an ad-hoc network through my laptop's wireless card. I have tested this network on my other work-laptop, and I am able to connect and surf the internet. My ever so lovely HTC Hero on the other hand, is not able to even find the network. It does not show up under "wireless controls".

    Meanwhile, it does show up in the "Wifi Analyser"-applet, with full signal strength, so the HTC Hero is able to recognize the ad-hoc network. I have tried adding the SSID, which is not hidden, manually under "wireless controls", but it's unsuccessful.

    So, to summarize, how can I make my HTC Hero connect to my fully functional Wi-Fi ad-hoc network?

    Edit, forgot to include the info of the network:
    Code (Text):
    1. wlan0     IEEE 802.11abgn  ESSID:"adhoc_wifi"  
    2.           Mode:Ad-Hoc  Frequency:2.412 GHz  Cell: BA:AC:D0:85:6A:0B  
    3.           Tx-Power=15 dBm  
    4.           Retry min limit:7   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr=2352 B  
    5.           Power Management:off
    6.           Link Quality:0  Signal level:0  Noise level:0
    7.           Rx invalid nwid:0  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
    8.           Tx excessive retries:0  Invalid misc:0   Missed beacon:0
    9.  
     
  9. tbone

    tbone New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I resolved this, and I'm typing this in the browser on my HTC Hero, which is connected to my ad-hoc wi-fi network configured with internet sharing. Pretty damn sweet :)

    I have written a guide for HTC Hero-users who are in the same predicament:

    How to connect your HTC Hero to your ad-hoc wi-fi network

    Try at your own risk :)
     
  10. harch18

    harch18 New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1
    hi ,
    even i have this same problem with my htc hero
    i used connectify to connect through ad-hoc network of my pc ,, but couldnt able to do it as connectify doesn't work on win vista/xp (i am using vista)

    so i got a new app Bzeek .. it works jus perfect for me ..:D

    n yes there r some prob initially with software during 1st one hour but now i can easily connect my phone with my lappy ad-hoc network.. cheers

    m uploading a pic so that u can understand how to do it
     

    Attached Files:

    chocomonster likes this.
  11. mohamed salum

    mohamed salum New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    The link that you have provided is broken can you please Update us on the link, Thank you
     
  12. mohamed salum

    mohamed salum New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have downloaded and installed Bzeek and I have connected my HTC hero u realy helped,

    but,

    The thing is my HTC wireless connection is not stable, it keeps on disconnecting can you please help
     
  13. AlV2

    AlV2 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does not work, as bzeek creates just another adhoc pc to pc network. XP Home SP3.
     

Share This Page

Loading...