WiFi question & cell radio - feature requestSupport


Last Updated:

  1. mi_canuck

    mi_canuck Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,064
    Likes Received:
    15
    Anyone know if there is a way to have the Nexus automatically go to Edge when WiFi is enabled? Seems like that would be a smart way to try to maximise battery life...

    Maybe it's already doing this, I don't know, since the WiFi symbol blocks the 'E' or '3G' symbol...

    But if it doesn't - I propose it as a feature for a future update...


    Is there a page that allows Nexus users to propose features? iPhone had this way back...
     

    Advertisement
  2. oniongirl

    oniongirl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    563
    Likes Received:
    9
    Issues - android - Project Hosting on Google Code

    I think there's a way to set an 'issue' as a feature request, but I can't remember how. Make sure whatever you're posting about doesn't exist already, as you'll be able to 'star' the feature which'll move it up the list of Google's To-Do list ;)
     
  3. gibson6594

    gibson6594 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    1
    You're not on 3G data when you're on Wifi, nor are you on Edge data. You're on Wifi
     
  4. mi_canuck

    mi_canuck Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,064
    Likes Received:
    15
    you're aware that wifi won't allow you to make a call don't you?

    my question has NOTHING to do with data...
     
  5. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    3,635
    Likes Received:
    2,126
    You can check by turning on Wifi, and the going under your settings, about phone, status, and network type.

    On my Droid, when I turn on Wifi, my network type still remains as EVDO rev A (3G), so I doubt the Android OS is doing any sort of power management here.

    Is there a way to manually enable edge instead of 3G? If so, then an app could probably be easily written to do what you're talking about.

    If not, then it may require root access to change that property.
     
  6. oniongirl

    oniongirl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    563
    Likes Received:
    9
    Yeh, you can manually disable 3G by going to Settings -> Wireless & Networks -> Mobile Networks and then enabling/disabling the "Use only 2G networks" option.

    S'what I do. Haven't looked for an app to do it though. I'm sure there's an app that allows you to have a shortcut to any phone settings, but I can't remember what it is.

    I'm a mine of information today.
     
  7. mi_canuck

    mi_canuck Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,064
    Likes Received:
    15
    yes, of course there is a way to manually enable Edge.... but what I'm saying is that it would be great if when on WiFi, that the cell part would automatically drop to Edge, as it's not being used for data (WiFi is taking over at that point), only voice, which doesn't require 3G's speed, EDGE handles voice just fine... In theory, should help battery life...
     
  8. daffyduck

    daffyduck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2009
    Messages:
    754
    Likes Received:
    42
    Going slightly off-thread but I would also love a widget/option to turn off the radio easily without also removing the option to switch on Bluetooth (re. Airplane mode when connecting the Nexus dock to play music....I get loads of interference, even when turning off data synchronisation).
     
  9. nx1977

    nx1977 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,419
    Likes Received:
    172
    Why not use one of the switcher apps in market?
     

Share This Page

Loading...