WiFi reconnect issueSupport


Last Updated:

  1. potato

    potato New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does anyone have any problems when reconnecting to your wifi? The phone is able to reconnect to wifi, but I will get a no connection error when trying to browse the internet, check email, or use any apps which try to sync. Both the phone and router says the phone has an IP address and is connected to wifi, but I cannot browse or sync. The problem goes away if you reboot the phone or the router. It seems the phone has no issues when connecting to wifi and browsing the first time you connect, but any subsequent reconnects have browsing problems. Basically, I have to reboot my phone every time I come home to reconnect with my home wifi without issues.

    Not sure if it has something to do with my phone or router settings since I don't have another router to test it with. Router is using 802.11n with WPA2/AES and MAC filtering is turned off. I tried changing to mixed n & g and g modes, but still got the same problem. I tried adding the phone to the static DHCPand using a static IP in the phone settings, but it wouldn't connect at all saying wifi unsuccessful. Is netmask the same as subnet mask?
     

    Advertisement
  2. BookLover

    BookLover Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    977
    Likes Received:
    114
    I don't have that problem. Try setting you wifi policy to never sleep and see if that solves your prob.
     
    Gant likes this.
  3. Ceashure

    Ceashure Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm having the same issue. It won't connect after the first time. A reboot of the phone always works...but is slow. Noticed this ever since the update a month or so ago.
     
  4. potato

    potato New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    My sleep policy setting was already at never sleep, but I gave the other two a try and ended up with same issue.

    Good to know I'm not the only one. Got the phone only a week ago on Rogers so no experience with it pre-update.
     
  5. reventon

    reventon Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    1
    i have a unique problem when connecting to wi-fi.

    when i connect to my home network, it shows unsuccessful after showing 'obtaining ip address for xxx'. i checked the password and everything, but its correct since iphone and laptops are working fine.

    any suggestions?

    thanks
     
  6. R1ggs

    R1ggs New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've noticed there is nothing specific to the model of phone with this issue. I bought my Droid phone (LG - Optimus) 4 days ago. Everything seems to bee just great.

    Except the Wifi issue. If my phone goes into Standby upon resume I am told I don't not have an internet connection. It won't use the data on my mobile network it just tells me I have no internet connection but the wifi status states it is connected to my router although the status icon is not green. It is white. Turning wifi off then back on solves the problem 99.9% of the time. Except once when it refused to turn itself back on.

    I have mobile data enabled, use of Wifi networks enabled. I have installed several apps and uninstalled several apps. Doesn't matter though because the Wifi still fails.

    I would assume it was the 2wire router I am using but if my phone cannot detect an internet connection then why does it say it's connected to my router and why won't it just use the mobile network? There aren't many answers to this issue and lest I restore the phone to factory state I am fine with turning the wifi off and on again. The phone is an LG. I have seen other threads with different phones having this issue so I suspect it is related directly to the Droid OS software. It's a real pain in the behind. This means I have to shut the wifi off to even attempt to have the phone use the mobile network for internet. Which is never as fast. Has anyone seen a fix for this out of the 10 or so threads that are located on these forums that discuss the same issues?
     

Share This Page

Loading...