• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help Wifi tether my Moment

I am a newb in the phone tec world. I is a growing intrest of mine. I hav a sprint moment. I took it to sprint and had them upgrade to 2.1. What i am wanting to do is root my phone so i can use a wifi tether on it to get full internet on my laptop with http. Can anyone help with step by step instructions. Thanks, sorry for my ignorance!!!!!

ok, here it is guys! I went to Sprint and downloaded the 2.1 installer upgrade. Followed the installer, everything went perfect. Updated to 2.1 on my moment. Then i found out that I had to root my phone to be able to use a wifi tether. So I went to sdx developers and downloaded the first installer from the two options available. Started the installer, followed it exactly and i ended up with my original 1.5 back on my phone. Help I am sooooooooooooo confused????? Can any one help with a step by step. Sdx was confusing. Thanks

Upvote 0
You probably got the CL14 installer. You can then use that to load a custom recovery app onto your phone, then go here:

SDX-Downloads : Haxsung Custom ROM Kitchen

And download a zip that gives you the kernel you desire. The above page also has a file you can download to use with the Samsung updater that will load the custom recovery onto your phone.

Since the last couple post's have been fairly vague i'll explain it in detail. This link will provide you with the stock 2.1 update with recovery already included.

SPH-M900_MR2_DE03_REL_1-forcsytos-recovery-3.0.8.tar