Wifi tether not working on unrevoked 3.2 if I ......


Last Updated:

  1. HTCeasar

    HTCeasar Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    31
    If I download a different kernel like netarchy will wifi tether work? Pretty pissed I only rooted to get this and it don't even work. U/D speeds were terrible. Is there a way to remedy this. Thanks.
     

    Advertisement
  2. exBBuser

    exBBuser Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    921
    Likes Received:
    123
    which version are you using
     
  3. HTCeasar

    HTCeasar Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    31
    Not sure what u mean but I updated my Evo with the OTA 2.2 update back when it was pushed to my phone. Then last night I rooted using unrevoked 3.2 one-click method. Installed wireless tether and u/d speeds were horrible.

    I'm guessing I did the root correctly cause I gave superuser in app drawer and s-off on the hboot screen. Thanks for replying.
     
  4. exBBuser

    exBBuser Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    921
    Likes Received:
    123
    Which version of wifi tether are you using.I believe pre 8 is the most recent but it not always work for everybody so try a different version.
     
    HTCeasar likes this.
  5. HTCeasar

    HTCeasar Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    31
    All I did after rooting was go to the market and downloaded wireless tether app. Am I missing something? How would I go about installing a different version?
     
  6. exBBuser

    exBBuser Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    921
    Likes Received:
    123
    HTCeasar likes this.
  7. HTCeasar

    HTCeasar Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    31
    Do I download version 2.1 eclair for evo? I'm on 2.2 now
     
  8. HTCeasar

    HTCeasar Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    31
    Your the man. Installed pre9 now have 176kb down/ 86kb up. Gonna do some tweaking. Thanks again for the help.
     
  9. exBBuser

    exBBuser Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    921
    Likes Received:
    123
    Im glad u got it working.U just put $30 in your pocket.:)
     
    Ramzes13 likes this.
  10. nu2android

    nu2android Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    5
    how many can connect. sprint hotspt allows you to connect up to 8 if you are generous, what about this one.
     
  11. HTCeasar

    HTCeasar Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    31
    Not sure how many. I connected 2 touch's with the wireless.

    Side note to anyone ..... Is there a root app for evo like dtunes on iphone? To download music, movies, etc.
     
  12. exBBuser

    exBBuser Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    921
    Likes Received:
    123
    Well I use the hotspot(free of course) I dont have that many wireless devices at home but I have been able to connect up to five.I'm guessing the wireless tether app have the same capabilities but yet I could be wrong.
     
  13. mfenske

    mfenske Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does this app allow you to create a traditional wi-fi hotspot? My work PC is super locked down and can't find/use ad hoc networks.
     
  14. Headcase_Fargone

    Headcase_Fargone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    7
    For those of you that have paid for and used the Sprint hotspot app, did it support WPA2 encryption? Wifi Tether only seems to use WEP.
     
  15. Munnarg

    Munnarg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    29
    The latest version of Wifi Tether seems to support WPA2 encryption actually. I downloaded it last night to test it out and there was the option to change the passphrase. It shows WPA2-PSK.
     
  16. nu2android

    nu2android Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    5

    You use the sprint hotspot? Does it work without paying.
     
  17. exBBuser

    exBBuser Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    921
    Likes Received:
    123
    if u r rooted is free,just flash CM6
     
  18. TwoK4drSi

    TwoK4drSi Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Still cannot get this to work. The tether is visable but cannot connect. Please help....very frustrated
     
  19. exBBuser

    exBBuser Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    921
    Likes Received:
    123
    What tether are you using
     
  20. TwoK4drSi

    TwoK4drSi Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am using the wireless tether from the marketplace.
     
  21. offtheRIM

    offtheRIM Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    25
    So I installed unrevoked 3.2 last night. Installed Wireless Tether. Tried pre7, 8, and 9 and all I can get is this. Any ideas?
     
  22. WaynesNside

    WaynesNside Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    5
    Did you try to connect a device to it? That's also the screen I get when first load the app and press for tether. Once you connect a device the numbers will start to show what your getting for speeds.

    I too was confused thinking that it would show numbers when I start the app, it doesn't work that way. I tried a bunch of different versions until I realized I was using it the app wrong.
     
    offtheRIM likes this.
  23. L8AGIN

    L8AGIN Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    19
    I was having the same problems connecting as you guys. I the channel, and it started working. Try changing the channels in the settings menu and hopefully that might do the trick.
     
  24. TwoK4drSi

    TwoK4drSi Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    What Wayneside posted is exactly what I am getting. My computer can "see" the coneection but cannot make a physical one to it. Any help is appreciated.
     
  25. SimmIsengard

    SimmIsengard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am getting the same thing, although I was rooted with UnrEVOked 3.2 still on the stock rom. I just installed BakedSnack 1.7 and Ill try it again. Anybody have any good roms to suggest using Sense?
     

Share This Page

Loading...