wifi tether


Last Updated:

  1. omgitswes

    omgitswes Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    For some reason I'm having a problem with it.
    It worked last time I was rooted but just rooted again after 2.2

    My computer recognizes it but when I try to connect it just says no internet access. Anyone else have this problem?

    iirc I had to verify my computer on my phone, but that option never came up
     

    Advertisement
  2. Casbah

    Casbah Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    19
    First I assume you've got a Dinc since you're in this forum. :)
    What version of Wifi tethering did you install? The pre9 seems to work the best on all the roms I've tried so far for the Incredible. The first one I tried was pre7 and that did exactly what you're describing.
     
  3. omgitswes

    omgitswes Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm not sure what about pre9 or 7
    under version it says 2.0.2 (theory of evolution)
     
  4. omgitswes

    omgitswes Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    okay so i just downloaded the pr9 one from online now its simply not connecting at all
     
  5. tluv00

    tluv00 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    249
    I am having issues as well. There was another thread that talked about creating a folder on the SD cart root file and throwing the ADK and .BIN files in there for it to work.
     
  6. richb82

    richb82 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    12
    Turn on airplane mode for a few seconds then turn it off. I had the same issue today, so I used the airplane mode trick and it worked.
     
  7. Terabethia

    Terabethia Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,071
    Likes Received:
    311

    ^^ that's what I did and it worked perfectly ^^

    Also, when you turn on the app it shows really low download/upload speeds which makes it seem like its not working. But once you actually connect a devise to it and use it, it jumps right up.
     
  8. omgitswes

    omgitswes Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    link to that thread? what am I supposed to do exactly?
    I noticed that in the prereqs it said something about netflitter-enabled kernel....well I tried downloading that and bricked my phone I guess it was the wrong voltage or something. I'm in process of restoring it now
     
  9. Casbah

    Casbah Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    19
    Guess I've had it lucky (knock on wood) cause most of my difficulties were because I just got the wrong file. Never needed airplane mode or creating card on folder..
    Sorry I wasnt much help.
     
  10. omgitswes

    omgitswes Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm not seeing a ADK or .Bin file anywhere.
    I know when I was rooted before and used it I had an android.tether folder on my sd card. Not sure what was it in but it's not there anymore
     
  11. Terabethia

    Terabethia Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,071
    Likes Received:
    311
    It's around here somewhere but I am too lazy to search.

    If you want to PM me your email address I will send you the two files. All you need to do is put them in a folder named androidtether, place it on your SD Card and run the app. Super simple.
     
  12. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    12,065
    Likes Received:
    8,531
  13. omgitswes

    omgitswes Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Finally got it. There was a problem with my PC as well.
    It's working now though, thanks to everyone
     
  14. onefourthgreek

    onefourthgreek Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    what kind of dl/ul speeds are you seeing?

    i tried pre 9 yesterday and got abysmal speeds (like 1993 modem era speed) so i rolled back to pre 8.

    i'm now getting speeds very similar to what i get directly on the phone, from what i can tell (speedtest.net and speakeasy.net/speedtest).

    I typically see about 1.5-2.0 Mbps upload and .4-.7 Mbps up.

    I did see on the phone two times where dl exceeded 3.0Mbps, but that doesn't seem to be the norm.

    I thought I might see higher speeds directly into the phone vs. wifi, but so far it seems pretty comparable. i just rooted yesterday (first timer woohoo) from 2.2 OTA stock. have not run unrevoked forever (not sure it's necessary for me), and have done no other mods to stock except for installing titanium backup and wifi tether.

    if anyone has suggestions for better wifi performance, i'd sure appreciate it. it's definitely useable as is, and i'm not expecting cable speed, but whatever tweaks are available i'm all about it. thanks!

    how about you all?
     
  15. CREVZ21

    CREVZ21 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    8
    Alright good question for someone. I'm over at my parents house now and have their laptop connected with the AndroidTether using wifi tether and everything is running fine but when I try to set it up with my laptop at home it doesn't work right. Any suggestions on what I should try?
     
  16. Lev16

    Lev16 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    27
    Anyone able to get this to work with switch Pro widget? No luck here so far
     
  17. serpentine009

    serpentine009 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    35
    Please excuse my ignorance. I thought that once you rooted you would be able to use the native wifi hotspot feature. I tried but I still get the "vzw will charge you an arm and a leg" warning.
    So when the OP says Wifi Tether...he is talking about an app? That requires root?
    Thanks
     
  18. dscribe

    dscribe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    818
    Likes Received:
    140
    Yeah you need to get install and setup wifi tether. Here's a link:

    Downloads - android-wifi-tether - Project Hosting on Google Code

    There are a bunch of threads about getting it going if you run into problems or I guess you could come back and ask here. I got mine going with no problems but I see some people have trouble getting their's going. I don't claim to be any expert on it because I never had anything much to overcome, but there are plenty of folks that will help you out if you get in a bind and just can't figure it out.
     
  19. serpentine009

    serpentine009 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    35
    Thanks!
     
  20. glenroebuck

    glenroebuck Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    i just dled the latest beta one and installed it via astro and it works for me. The one in the market will not handout dhcp.
     
  21. omgitswes

    omgitswes Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page

Loading...