wifi tetheringSupport


Last Updated:

  1. batman25

    batman25 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    2
    has anyone got this to work on 2.2(non-rooted) without the usb cable. Am i missing something? It has been greyed out for me.
     

    Advertisement
  2. turbosol16

    turbosol16 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    9
    Works for me just fine. Portable wifi hotspot works fine.
     
  3. batman25

    batman25 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    2
    im up to 83 now but it didnt work on 50 either.
     
  4. BiGMERF

    BiGMERF Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,079
    Likes Received:
    267
    Works fine for me on 83, always had since 50

    Sent from space
     
  5. uoY_redruM

    uoY_redruM Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    9
    Works fine for me. I use it for PS3 and Call of Duty lol.

    83? When did 83 come out? I'm still on 73....
     
  6. StarMenace

    StarMenace Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    18
    Worked for me on 50 but haven't tried yet on 83
     
  7. Drhyde

    Drhyde Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    493
    Likes Received:
    89
    Mine works just fine. I had to get the driver for it on google's site, but other than that it was good. I used my Hotspot to test its connection with my dad's iPod Touch.
     
  8. uoY_redruM

    uoY_redruM Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    9
    Never mind. Should have looked before I asked, I found it.

    Updated to 83. I'll check out hotspot tomorrow morning and report back if 83 is working properly.
     
  9. eric1589

    eric1589 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    3
    i got the FRF 83 update thursday.
    i didnt request it, didnt download it, didnt search for it.
    im not rooted or hacked or anything like that.

    my screen goes into landscape when i turn it either direction now, and i just tried the hotspot and my GF's laptop picked it up.

    it said androidAP and was unsecured. i could probably change the name and security if i check.
     
  10. eric1589

    eric1589 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    3
    it seems to be working.
    i just names it "eric's nexus" and gave it a password and connected my desktop wirelessly to my N1. if this post works its through that connection
     
  11. eric1589

    eric1589 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    3
    it takes a minute to establish a connection, and both times it give me an error message saying i may need to open a browser windo to finish the connection. i open IE on the desktop and it loads a page. connection said i was currently connected to the N1.
     
  12. uoY_redruM

    uoY_redruM Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    9
    I used it the very next day, I forgot to post results. Sorry guys.

    Worked fine on my PS3 playing Call of Duty. Just added a password to it to make sure someone else isn't taping off my shit lol.
     
  13. eric1589

    eric1589 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    3
    The 3g signal sent wirelessly to your ps3 is fast enough to play online?
     
  14. uoY_redruM

    uoY_redruM Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    9
    Dude, I'm playing FLAWLESSLY on Call of Duty. No disconnects, lags, nothing. Playing Team Deathmatch with all craziness going on and not a hiccup.

    I had issues with my home computer wireless connection with it (timeouts sometimes and lags) and I don't get that using my wireless hotspot on my phone...
     
  15. J-Mar

    J-Mar Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    1
    The Wifi hotspot works great on my N1. It's actually quite fast. Haven't tested out playing MW2 on it though :)
     
  16. techdaring

    techdaring Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    1
    I haven't try it from time I upgrade to 2.2 Froyo
     
  17. eric1589

    eric1589 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    3
    my phone notified me of another update tonight.
    i did it and its now frf85b
    posting this on my desktop connected to the portable wi-fi hotspot on my phone.

    i might try playing some MW2 with my ps3 hooked up to it later.
     
  18. Mostly Harmless

    Mostly Harmless Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1,523
    Likes Received:
    264
    Let me ask a question:

    USB Tethering-uses the N1 as a 3G modem?

    Portable Wi-Fi Hotspot-Uses N1 as a wireless router over the 3G network? What happens if you are connect to another wifi modem while using the N1 as a hotspot?
     
  19. i.mac

    i.mac Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    5
    works perfectly on FRF85B
     
  20. eric1589

    eric1589 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    3
    if your nexus one is already on wifi, anything else needing wifi should be able to get that same connection, thus making your nexus one an unnecessary middle man by using the mobile hotspot.
     
  21. eric1589

    eric1589 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    3
    heres a pic of my desktop hooked to my N1 through mobile hotspot.
    [​IMG]
     
  22. Mostly Harmless

    Mostly Harmless Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1,523
    Likes Received:
    264
    Thanks eric, I guess I was wondering if you could use it as an extender.
     
  23. eric1589

    eric1589 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    3
    color me impressed.
    just got done playing a couple matches of MW2 connected over the mobile hotspot.
     
  24. NexusMMM

    NexusMMM Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0

    Ahh, hence the reason carriers are doing away with unlimited data. Hopefully TMO doesn't notice heavy data usage post froyo and decide to block tethering or charge a fee for it. For some reason I don't see this free for all lasting too long.
     
  25. uoY_redruM

    uoY_redruM Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    9
    It doesn't use nearly the data you'd expect.

    I'm running Netcount (I believe its called) and it keeps track of data used daily, 7day, month and lifetime.

    I was at 100MB used when I turned on Call of Duty. I played for a few hours and ended with 174.5 (so a 74.5MB usage). Either the counter is completely F'ed up or it only used 74.5MB...
     

Share This Page

Loading...