Wifi WoesSupport


Last Updated:

  1. sublow

    sublow Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    4
    We have two x10 mini's in our household and one is having trouble connecting to the internet through Wifi.

    Mine is fine and connects straight away with no problems. The other one finds the access point, connects and gets an IP address but thats it.

    It can't access the internet no matter what I try. 3G is fine but obviously a lot slower.

    I've tried wifi fixer off the market and setting up wifi again but it's the same every time.

    Can anyone suggest anything?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Devo1982

    Devo1982 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    3
    Do you get any error messages at all or will it simply not allow you to access the internet?
     
  3. sublow

    sublow Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    4
    No error messages at all you just open a browser and it says page cannot be displayed. Switch off wifi and it connects straight away.
     
  4. knudsen81

    knudsen81 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    38

    i think the only way is to connect the phone to sony ericsson update service on try to put in the software again
     
  5. sublow

    sublow Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    4
    I have tried that but it says the phone is already up to date.

    Are their any updates due?
     
  6. Devo1982

    Devo1982 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    3
    When connected to Wifi does it have an IP address etc - you can check this by going into Wireless Controls>Wi-Fi Settings>Advanced (press menu key) and checking the IP address etc etc
     
  7. knudsen81

    knudsen81 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    38

    you need to use the other software from sony
     
  8. sublow

    sublow Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    4
    It does get an IP address and it it correct for the wireless network I'm connecting to.
     
  9. sublow

    sublow Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    4
    I'll have another look tonight.
     
  10. knudsen81

    knudsen81 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    38
  11. sublow

    sublow Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    4
    Thanks for your help.

    I'm going to try another wireless network, if that fails repair the OS.
     
  12. knudsen81

    knudsen81 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    38

    i hope you will get it to work :D
     
  13. Devo1982

    Devo1982 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    3
    This may be a stupid post and I don't mean any offense but are you sure that the problematic phone has data enabled and also background data enabled?

    Slide down notification bar and check that data traffic is enabled. Then go into settings>data synchronization and ensure background data is ticked
     
  14. sublow

    sublow Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    4
    No offense taken at all. I'm new to the Mini and Android so still learning. I'm just happy so many people have posted with suggestions.

    It is ticked and data traffic is enabled.

    On mine wifi still works if I switch off data traffic.
     
  15. sublow

    sublow Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    4
    I tested the phone on another wireless network and that didn't work either.

    I'm going to try and reinstall the OS tonight.

    Just looking how to back the setting up now.
     
  16. sublow

    sublow Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    4
    I finally got around to reinstalling the OS and it's still the same.

    What's next back to the shop?
     
  17. mdinisoae

    mdinisoae Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have problems with WiFi too. With my WiFi router was not possible to connect (after password) unless I set a manual IP on X10. I tried on some supermarkets with open WiFi connections and same problem, only few of them I was able to connect automatically. I made the last update on Android, no results ....Can be a hardware problem?
     
  18. sublow

    sublow Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    4
    I've not had any luck with this so far.

    I think it looks like a hardware problem.

    I've tried taking it back to the shop yet.
     

Share This Page

Loading...