WiFiSupport


Last Updated:

  1. talvi

    talvi Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi all Thinking of getting the Milestone 2 (in the UK, unlocked). If I connect the Milestone 2 to the net using WiFi and log onto Skype, I am assuming that I will be able to make a call in the same way as I can from my laptop. Am I correct??? hope so :)
     

    Advertisement
  2. talvi

    talvi Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    1
    oops, I'm being dumb (Skype is a local App that connects to the internet! D'oh!!) so, first I guess I am asking if Skype runs on the Android platform, if so, then presumably(?) I can connect to the internet using WiFi and use Skype as I would on my laptop .... no? Anyway, I've asked this on the Milestone 2 forum as maybe this is the wrong place? Sorry twice :)
     
  3. John Bean

    John Bean Happy Wanderer

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,250
    Likes Received:
    442
    The answer is: "yes" ;-)
     
  4. talvi

    talvi Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    1
    err thanks John but yes is the answer to which question? ;)

    There is a problem with WiFi access but I don'tunderstand why. It appears to be only in the USA on the Verizon Milestone devices - so did Verizon castrate the Milestone? Or is it something else?
     
  5. John Bean

    John Bean Happy Wanderer

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,250
    Likes Received:
    442
    You asked (and I quote) "first I guess I am asking if Skype runs on the Android platform, if so, then presumably(?) I can connect to the internet using WiFi and use Skype as I would on my laptop .... no?"

    The answer is "yes" to both. I have no idea why you have problems connecting to wifi, it could be almost anything - carrier issues, router issues, a zillion possible configuration mismatches, faulty phone...

    But as to your original question, the answer is still "yes".
     
  6. talvi

    talvi Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    1
    John, are you in the UK? There have been a lot of reports/discussions on the net about Skype on Android Milestones not being able to work via WiFi, but only via the carrier network. It may be something to do with the US Verizon machines. I'm just trying to nail it down.
     
  7. John Bean

    John Bean Happy Wanderer

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,250
    Likes Received:
    442
    Yes, I'm in the UK.
     

Share This Page

Loading...