Will a 1.6 phone screw me over?


Last Updated:

  1. iPlunder

    iPlunder New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am on Cincinnati Bell and I want to buy their carrier exclusive "Blaze", but, it comes with 1.6. Considering how tiny of a part of the market the Blaze is a don't foresee an update in the future for it. I haven't been able to find any good reads about 1.6 so will this keep me from being able to get a lot of new apps or what? What percent of apps don't work with 1.6? What would be the large disadvantages of 1.6?

    Thanks, sorry If i am doing anything wrong. I am new here.
     

    Advertisement
  2. CptGemini

    CptGemini Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    35
    1.6 is the highest the G1 will see which is what I have an I have had no problems running anything on it whatsoever aside from a little issue I had with the phone itself earlier this morning but it seems to be working now, allthough I am afraid to turn it off. As far as apps go everything I have or have had in the past has worked, including that 20mb baseball game thats on the market, I tried the demo to see how it was and it worked fine.

    Only downside is the low internal memory my phone has, not sure of the one you are looking at though.
     
  3. HustlinDaily

    HustlinDaily Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,141
    Likes Received:
    105
    My phone came with 1.6. Used it for like half an hour, then rooted it (equivalent of jailbreak) and updated to 2.1 (Liquid has a large development community).

    1.6 is good but I find the added homescreens/better browser/MULTITOUCH (major addition because my phone does not have a dpad/trackball/optical mouse) of 2.1 to be superior.

    You can take a look at what each update entails here- Android (operating system) - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia


    Isn't Cincy Bell getting the Motoroi? Honestly, if you can wait for the Motoroi, I think you should.
     
  4. iPlunder

    iPlunder New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Will I be missing out on too much if I have 1.6? I am really interested in this phone. To put things in perspective I have an unlocked iphone with 2.2.1, so I can't use a huge majority of apps, and because it is unlocked I am can only use internet with wifi. That is the phone I have right now, so the android blaze is looking really really good. So you think I should go for it?
     
  5. caustic

    caustic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    23
  6. iPlunder

    iPlunder New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ah, that looks like good news. Will someone briefly explain what I can do with that?
     
  7. MrDangerous

    MrDangerous Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    534
    Likes Received:
    57
    Root will let you load custom firmware. It also means in the event that CB never releases updates for the phone, someone could potentially port Cyanogenmod over to it.
     
  8. Connormgs

    Connormgs Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Cyanogenmod 5.0.8 running on my G1 is the best custom ROM by Cyanogen and ever yet. Runs super fast, Apps2SD for unlimited app space, a large community for the ROM and an extremely active IRC channel and developer make it a winner.
     

Share This Page

Loading...