Will an android phone thats not from t-mobile work with their 9.99 internet plan?


Last Updated:

  1. Jorge22f

    Jorge22f Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a G1 and used to have the 9.99 plan working fine but then I got the message in my browser about upgrading my plan and all that, but sincerely $25 a month for edge is not worth it for me, I only used the internet for widgets and the android market any heavy downloading was done through wi-fi (since edge would have taken ages) I'm not sure how T-mobile knows if you have a G-1 or MT3G but I hear its from the IMEI, so what if I use an android phone thats not from t-mobile, would that work with the 9.99 plan?

    p.s. sorry for the long explanation.:D
     

    Advertisement
  2. Russ Dill

    Russ Dill Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2009
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    3
    My Galaxy does, for now, but T-mobile is free to change that at any time.
     
  3. Sweed

    Sweed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    1
    this might help (not really)
    I was thinking of buying a mytouch and putting it on the at&t network
    I asked the customer service at at&t whether it would be possible or not, he said yes I can, and that they'll charge me for a data plan too.
    I wanted to get it withought a data plan. that wasn't an option at at&t
    I asked him "what if I get a free phone and switch the sim cards?"
    he answered me with a long explanation about how they can tell it's a smart phone because I'll be receiving "higher end data" when I should only be receiving "lower end data"
    his explanation took several minutes.
    I replied "oh, I thought I just wouldn't get any of the features I'm not paying for."
    he paused for a few seconds and said "hhhhmmm... maybe, I'm not sure. I only work in marketing."

    annoying right?
    anyway, I know for a fact that the phone will work withought a data plan if it's already activated.
    I also know that (with enough arguing over the phone) you might eventually get them to not give you a data plan.
    but they're not really good about it.

    basically, you nag the customer service until they do it for you.
     
  4. colnago

    colnago Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    3,091
    Likes Received:
    218
    Any unlocked phone should be eligible for AT&T's "MediaNet" plan ($15/mo.). I called about the Nokia e71 (unlocked, not AT&T's branded e71x) and the customer service rep "checked their system" to see if it was eligible.

    Whether its a phone from another carrier, I'd just call their provisioning department, or again, customer service, to see if its eligible.

    I'll be ordering a Milestone sometime this week, w/the intention of doing 500 min./mo and the $10 "web2go".
     
  5. larryccf

    larryccf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    15
    i may be off on this but i was told the freqs that tmo uses for 3G are different than everybody else's - ie 1700/2100 vs 850/1900 which means you won't be 3g capable using a tmo phone on at&t network - but you will be paying for 3g data svc

    you might want to rethink yur plans
     

Share This Page

Loading...