Root Will Master Reset Clear Root to allow OTA Updates?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by ghost03, Oct 3, 2010.

1. ghost03

ghost03 Member

Sep 3, 2010
    I am currently running a rooted Samsung Captivate. I have not flashed it or anything and am still running 2.1 with the firmware update (JH7). I rooted to get rid of AT&Ts bloatware which I did using System App remover.

With Froyo on the way, I was wondering if a master reset would turn it back to stock (minus AT&T bloatware) and enable OTA updates again???

Please help because I am new to Android.

Advertisement
  2. sremick

sremick Well-Known Member

Jun 18, 2010
    IT Admin
    USA
    Not having the stock AT&T apps will cause the OTA updates to fail. It apparently checks for their existence.

That's why it's not good to remove them.

ghost03 likes this.
  3. Infinite-t

Infinite-t Well-Known Member

Jul 23, 2010
    Just to play devils advocate for.a sec.. Sorry S ;)... I dont know about the apps being gone keeping you from updating.. ive heard conflicting reports some say it happened some say they were fine. From personal experience i know that root didnt affect the jh7 update. I was rooted and lagfixed. I undid lag fix but kept root and was able to pull the update.

Since youve already done it, there isnt much point warning you not to.. So ill just say this.. If for some reason you cant get updates because you deleted some crap on your phone you didnt want, at least you can rest easy with the thought that great folks like design gears will have custom roms for us that will be just as good or probably better. And you.can still.live without the bloat taking up space, battery, ram and your.data...