Will Sense be able to be ported to Captivate?


Last Updated:

  1. thx10538

    thx10538 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    2
    Not saying that Samsung's UI is bad, because it seems like an interesting variation on Android, but I do love Sense UI and it'd be awesome on a 4" Super AMOLED display

    I've heard that the SGS phones will probably get rooted quickly, if not already, so do y'all think there'd be any hardware issues?

    check it:
     

    Attached Files:


    Advertisement
  2. aphexacid

    aphexacid Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    This would be amazing.

    The Touchflo UI is very cheezy. Will always be.
     
  3. t-readyroc

    t-readyroc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    710
    Likes Received:
    80
    I'm assuming you mean TouchWiz.

    & coming from someone who's been using TouchFlo 1.0 (a.k.a. Sense 1.0) for many years now, I'm definitely ready for something different.
     
  4. sharukh007

    sharukh007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    is there a way to disable touchwiz?
     
  5. lordmaxx

    lordmaxx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    379
    Likes Received:
    24
    Nope, short of rooting and replacing with a newly cooked rom
     
  6. aphexacid

    aphexacid Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, sorry about that. I'm always mixing those 2 up.

    I really hate the bubbly colorful icons, and all the menus on the captivate. Thats my first priority when i get one, is getting rid of that.

    I cant wait for it to be rooted, and a vanilla rom. CANT WAIT! This will be my first android phone.

    I I've been an iphone user for years, i have the ip4 as well. But i've had my eye on android, and i think this is the time.

    Time to get rid of my aging "tinkerer" phone, N95 and Touch Diamond.
     
  7. Donatron

    Donatron Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    15
  8. thx10538

    thx10538 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    2
    I have recently seen how awesome Launcher Pro is, so maybe a vanilla rom w/ that would be a pretty sweet change up.

    I like how on the HTC Evo 4G you can turn Sense UI on and off. I think all the Android Skins should have this feature!
     
  9. jonhcox

    jonhcox Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    7
    I'm just going to get the phone and install Launcher Pro on it, especially since it won't require rooting. I want to root it, just want to wait and see how they look.The only thing I don't like about the phone is the Samsung UI.
     
  10. thindery

    thindery Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    64
    So I didn't really see any response (maybe no one knows)? Can Sense UI be put on the Captivate sometime in the future?
     
  11. maerlim

    maerlim Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    490
    Likes Received:
    121
    It's not that easy. Somebody would have to take a ROM from a Desire for instance and port it to use the features and hardware of the Captivate. I'm guessing that's not an easy feat, considering they're different manufacturers and all. Magic 8-Ball Sez: Don't count on it.
     
    thindery likes this.
  12. thindery

    thindery Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    64
    That's how I figured it would need to be done. I may try out Launcher Pro and see what that looks like. I wish their main site showed some screenshots and stuff though. Thansk!
     
  13. t-readyroc

    t-readyroc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    710
    Likes Received:
    80
    The XDA crew (who else) announced a couple days ago that they've already started working on porting Sense to all Galaxy S devices.
     

Share This Page

Loading...