Will the Backflip get 3G if it is unlocked for T-Mobile?Support


Last Updated:

  1. FreakyLocz14

    FreakyLocz14 Banned This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,344
    Likes Received:
    76
    I noticed that the AT&T Backflip supports the 2100 3G band, and T-Mobile uses that frequency for their 3G service.
     

    Advertisement
  2. james27007

    james27007 Look into my Eye VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,149
    Likes Received:
    445
    Bbased off that the backflip works on a different 3g signal than T-mobile; more than likely the answer is no. I do know that when I had a G1 and used it on AT&T, I had no 3G, it said 3G in the notifaction bar, but it was not 3G.
     
  3. FreakyLocz14

    FreakyLocz14 Banned This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,344
    Likes Received:
    76
    So supporting one of T-Mobile's 3G frequencies won't mean that I'll get 3G?
     
  4. Beach_Head

    Beach_Head Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    1
    I believe you should be able to get 3G speeds on the Backflip on T-Mobile's network...

     
  5. Blood Diamond Pants

    Blood Diamond Pants Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    +1 if it has the frequency support it should get 3g, unless there is something in the software blocking 3g data.
     
  6. FreakyLocz14

    FreakyLocz14 Banned This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,344
    Likes Received:
    76
    Well, I was looking at it's specs and it supports the 2100 MHz 3G band that T-Mobile uses for HSDPA 7.2
     
  7. Beach_Head

    Beach_Head Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    1
    If T-Mobile uses the 2100Mhz frequency, you will get 3G speeds...

    I'm in the Philippines and carriers here use that frequency. I can connect just fine...

     
  8. starmena

    starmena New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    From my understanding Tmobile 3g uses two different frequencies. One for Uploading and one for Downloading. The backflip needs to have both frequencies in order to get 3g to work correctly.

    I'm taking a wild guess here but i think the frequencies are 2100 MHz for Downloading and 1700 MHz for Uploading. So the answer would be NO. The phone WILL work on Edge though. and all other operations won't be affected.
     
  9. FreakyLocz14

    FreakyLocz14 Banned This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,344
    Likes Received:
    76
    So I'll get 3G speeds down and EDGE speeds up?
     
  10. Beach_Head

    Beach_Head Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    1
    Researched more about this. starmena is right as apparently, T-Mo uses AWS and is in it's own world where 3G is concerned.

    Please read this: Understanding T-Mobile's 3G Network
     

Share This Page

Loading...